CodeIgniter Forums
A easy question for Ci4.0 ( can i Upgrade from Ci3 to Ci4 ?) - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: CodeIgniter 4 (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-28.html)
+--- Forum: CodeIgniter 4 Discussion (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-31.html)
+--- Thread: A easy question for Ci4.0 ( can i Upgrade from Ci3 to Ci4 ?) (/thread-65306.html)



A easy question for Ci4.0 ( can i Upgrade from Ci3 to Ci4 ?) - CiAngle - 05-27-2016

I think this is one easy question, because i hope to sure for my project so i must create this topic question  Blush

Question: 
I am in a Project which is building on Ci3.0.6, rummor about Ci4.0 will was born in next times, my question is may i update my Project from Ci3.0.6 to Ci4.0 ? ( My project about Mini Supermarket, i has only created files in Library, Helper, Controller and Models )

Please can tell me can i sure to Upgrade my Project from Ci3.0.4 to Ci4.0 ? That is very important to me because my Project will Complete at middle of next year but in that times the Ci4.0 can be republic  Smile

Please help my small brian !  Blush verry verry thanks

i am vietnamese so not pretty about english 


RE: A easy question for Ci4.0 ( can i Upgrade from Ci3 to Ci4 ?) - ciadmin - 05-27-2016

CodeIgniter 4 will not be backwards compatible with CodeIgniter 3.
There will be philosophical similarities, but the codebase will exploit PHP7.
There will be a section in the user guide about upgrading from CI3 to CI4, but it will definitely not be as easy as replacing the "system" folder.


RE: A easy question for Ci4.0 ( can i Upgrade from Ci3 to Ci4 ?) - CiAngle - 05-27-2016

(05-27-2016, 01:19 AM)ciadmin Wrote: CodeIgniter 4 will not be backwards compatible with CodeIgniter 3.
There will be philosophical similarities, but the codebase will exploit PHP7.
There will be a section in the user guide about upgrading from CI3 to CI4, but it will definitely not be as easy as replacing the "system" folder.
Can i move files in Library, Helper, Controller and Models to Ci4 for reuseHuh


RE: A easy question for Ci4.0 ( can i Upgrade from Ci3 to Ci4 ?) - sv3tli0 - 05-27-2016

3rd party or custom class's will be reusable if they work under PHP 7, but if you use some CI 3 features inside your custom libs, they may not work.


RE: A easy question for Ci4.0 ( can i Upgrade from Ci3 to Ci4 ?) - InsiteFX - 05-27-2016

Also you better make sure that your hosting provider will run PHP 7 right now most do not they are only offering PHP 5.6.x


RE: A easy question for Ci4.0 ( can i Upgrade from Ci3 to Ci4 ?) - Narf - 05-27-2016

(05-27-2016, 03:36 AM)InsiteFX Wrote: Also you better make sure that your hosting provider will run PHP 7 right now most do not they are only offering PHP 5.6.x

Helpful: http://phpversions.info/php-7/


RE: A easy question for Ci4.0 ( can i Upgrade from Ci3 to Ci4 ?) - CiAngle - 05-27-2016

(05-27-2016, 02:42 AM)sv3tli0 Wrote: 3rd party or custom class's will be reusable if they work under PHP 7, but if you use some CI 3 features inside your custom libs, they may not work.

Big Grin  Oh, so thanks you !
My Ci3.0.6 Project only use helpers and database library of CI3.0.6, another features were builted by my Team ( created in Library folder of Ci3.0.9 ! be sure ), and with your sweet answer my Project can Move to Ci4.0, now i can free about my question caption  Heart Heart


RE: A easy question for Ci4.0 ( can i Upgrade from Ci3 to Ci4 ?) - cartalot - 05-27-2016

(05-27-2016, 03:44 AM)Narf Wrote: Helpful: http://phpversions.info/php-7/

WOW - that is a great link because it shows the actual *version* of PHP 7 the hosting company is running.
A very good guide for which hosting companies do their updates. Thank you for posting.