CodeIgniter Forums
changing the table name with a variable - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: CodeIgniter 4 (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=28)
+--- Forum: CodeIgniter 4 Support (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=30)
+--- Thread: changing the table name with a variable (/showthread.php?tid=88984)



changing the table name with a variable - yildzselim - 12-17-2023

Code:
class UserModel extends Model
{
    protected $table      = 'users';
    protected $primaryKey = 'id';


Hello, I want to change the table name with a variable, for example the id + _table name of the users coming from the session, how can I do this, thank you.


RE: changing the table name with a variable - captain-sensible - 12-17-2023

maybe in principle ..along the lines .no clue if its going to work
Code:
class UserModel extends Model
{
    protected $table ;


public function setTableName($parameter)
    {
        $this->table= $parameter;
    }

controller

Code:
$handle = new UserModel();
$handle->setTableName('sometable');
$handle->someOtherModelMethod();
//maybe use a getter method



RE: changing the table name with a variable - Kaosweaver - 12-19-2023

The base model has a function setTable, we use that to set the table to a different one.


RE: changing the table name with a variable - yildzselim - 12-23-2023

Thank you


RE: changing the table name with a variable - InsiteFX - 12-23-2023

It's in the Model not the BaseModel.


RE: changing the table name with a variable - kenjis - 12-23-2023

https://codeigniter4.github.io/api/classes/CodeIgniter-Model.html#method_setTable