Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
controller interoperability with a twist!

[eluser]coldfire82[/eluser]
Here is the pickle. BTW i am new to CI

structure is:

+views
- register
- login

+controller
- itempurchase
- register_user

I have a payment page at my (shopping) site which takes signup information IF the user is NOT signed in. When the customer enters the payment information along with singUp information, I want to do two operations. i.e.

1. Register a user
2. Process payment information. (like billingname,city,country, item, quantity etc., here, this information is then stored in a DB table)

The problem is, the html <form> is 1 and I want to accomplish these 2 separate operations in one go i.e. on form submit, it registers ther person and continue processing the payment. How to do that? Because, If I submit the form, it can either go to register_user or itempurchase and there is no interoperability between controllers (as far as i know, and I dont know v.much about CI Wink )

the ideas in my mind were to

idea 1: make the action of the form as "register_user" and by somehow either call the function in another controller or copy the controller function which is in itempurchase.
(i think this is totally against rules)

idea 2: make the action of the form as "register_user" and create a dummy view like "autopayment". Then, create a hidden form there and fill all variable values which will come in an array when i will load this view and at the end of the form, send this form using javascript to "itempurchase" controller.

idea3: viceversa of idea2. but with some tricky coding like first register the person and then process the controller.

idea4: put "register_user" in some common library and access it from the "itempurchase" controller.

i am really in trouble here...maybe its not so difficult if i know more abt the capabilities of CI!

SOS i am stuck!

[eluser]WebsiteDuck[/eluser]