Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CMS - Couple of questions

[eluser]Boris Strahija[/eluser]
I'm really new to CI, and I currently have my own CMS in development. It's about 50% done, but now I decided I would rewrite it in for CI.
And I'm curious about some things, best practive for a couple of things.

1. Authentication library and user management. What do you think is the best practice to do this? A library wit all the functionality and a model to do DB stuff, or how? How du you do it?

2. I also have a template parser that dynamcly adds parsed elements to the DB. It's divided in 3 tables. Is it better to make a library for this, or maybe a template model, that then loads the other 2 models for the other 2 tables?

Thank you

[eluser]Derek Allard[/eluser]
Best practice for something like auth and user management will really depend on what you're building. There are a number of CI based CMS systems out there, most open source. I'd suggest you download and dissect one. Depending on your needs, you may also want to look at ExpressionEngine. It may be overkill for you, or it may save you weeks (in our case years) of development time. Welcome to CI strija!

Which CMS systems do you mean? Somethign like Blaze? Came up first on google Smile
EE is of course nice, and I have some plans to use it on a couple of projets, but I would also like to make my own CMS, not very complicated just for some really simple sites. And I would also learn to know CI a little bit better.

What I would like to achieve is to have to have some basic functions like login, register, edit, delete. Users have to be divided in groups, and also one of the requirements is that some users only have access to some parts of the published site. In the backend there have to be some user management pages.
This is what I would like to know, best practices?

And on the template part, do you maybe have some suggestion or advice? Smile

Thanx