Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Direct echo in Controller - bad parctice?

I'm quite new to CodeIgniter and have been putting together a very small website which is directly copied from some static PHP that I maintain. Following the tutorial (version 2) and then moving on to the general topics led me to put a few direct echo statements in my default controller in order to attempt to add some CSS, metadata and third party JavaScript to the resulting page's
Code:
<head></head>

Everything started to come out in the wrong order. Other MVC tutorials found by Google imply that it is a bad idea for a controller to produce output in this way, and sure enough when I swapped over to using
Code:
$this->output->append_output()
everything started to work a lot more neatly. Is this the right approach? If so, I think it would be helpful to update the documentation for controllers to make this clear.

Chris.

Given that CodeIgniter is a MVC framework implies that output code should generally be avoided in anything other than the V part of it all.

There are some cases where it might be okay to put output directly from the controller, but where possible it should all be done as part of a view.
Developing mostly on Ubuntu 14.04 in a VM. Probably insane, but it works.

If you are new to this problematic, you need to read these pages of documentation: MVC and static pages.

CI's views are captured with output buffering and sent to the browser after the controller/method is totally done being processed. Echoing from controllers will bypass that and send data FIRST, followed by any views being shown. All output, except general debugging while in development of course, should be sent through a view, not echoing from a controller.

Really the only exception to that is sending back json or other data. Then you'd echo it from the controller and not use a view (in most cases)