Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
[Beginner] Controller issue

[eluser]Ashley Snowdon[/eluser]
Hello,

I've just begun my experimentation with CodeIgniter, and I am trying to code my own user management.

I'm aware of the way the URI works, /class/function/params

I'm trying to create the following: /users/register, /users/login (and in the future /users/reminder/password, etc).

The way I envisaged this working was to have a 'users.php', but then I released that this class could get very messy. I then decided it would be neater to see if it was possible to create a subfolder in the controllers directory called 'users', then have a 'register.php', 'login.php' and build my authentication and validation from here.

Is this a good way to accomplish this? I went ahead and attempted to do it, but I'm having issues with loading a class when just /users is accessed.

Any help or guidance would be appreciated as I am fairly new to the MVC architecture.

Regards,
Ashley

[eluser]n0xie[/eluser]
Quote:The way I envisaged this working was to have a ‘users.php’, but then I released that this class could get very messy.
Why did you think it would get messy. It would only contain a few functions, not more. Would be pretty clean.

[eluser]WanWizard[/eluser]
It's all a matter of preference. You could even mix and match, use a single controller for a couple of simple methods, and split into controllers in a directory when it becomes complicated.

You can catch the requests for '/users' using a route, and route the request to something like 'users/overview'...

[quote author="n0xie" date="1273601391"]
Quote:The way I envisaged this working was to have a ‘users.php’, but then I released that this class could get very messy.
Why did you think it would get messy. It would only contain a few functions, not more. Would be pretty clean.[/quote]