Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Practical CodeIgniter 3 - A new book coming soon

(01-28-2016, 09:17 PM)webcodeguy Wrote: Thank you, reading the sample now. Looking forward eagerly to the complete book Smile

Thanks! I have the next chapter written, and it's waiting for review by Mat. The chapter after that is 1/3 finished, so we're getting there! Smile

The latest chapter is out.

This chapter covers Multiple Applications, the settings and tools you have at your disposal to make the pieces work together, and we look at how you would modify everything to cover 4 different use cases.

Hello guys,
I am new to CodeIgniter and I ask your help.
I bought the book and I'm in doubt about how to use the "A Simple Theme System." Someone could send me a working example ?!  I'm a little lost.. Confused
It will help me a lot.

Thank you!

The simplest solution is to put the code in that chapter into your MY_Controller file. The My_Controller example file that you should have received with the book has the functions already in there. Then, all of your controllers would extend from that. At this point, all of the functions are available to your controllers. Then, the $this->render() method would display the current view based on your controller and message name. We'll walk through a quick example assuming a user profile page.

First, create your main "layout" file. This is the template that is used for all of the pages that your content gets inserted into. Make sure the echo out a view_content variable.

Code:
<!doctype html>
<html>
<head>
    <title>Some Great Site</title>
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="/assets/css/app.css">
</head>
<body>
    <!-- Header stuff goes here -->

<div class="container">
        <?= $view_content ?>
    </div>

<!-- Footer stuff goes here -->
</body>
</html>

Then, in your controller, you might do something as simple as:

Code:
class Users extends MY_Controller {
    public function index() {
        $data = [