a section of code in tutorial/news section confused me:

Code:
<h2><?php echo $title; ?></h2>
<?php foreach ($news as $news_item): ?>
        <h3><?php echo $news_item['title']; ?></h3>
        <div class="main">
                <?php echo $news_item['text']; ?>
        </div>
        <p><a href="<?php echo site_url('news/'.$news_item['slug']); ?>">View article</a></p>[code]
<?php endforeach; ?>
[/code]

Where does the 'class="main"' come from? Where can I edit it?
Anyone who answers will be a great help to me.
Thanks!!

(09-15-2015, 07:46 PM)folospace Wrote: Hi there!
I'm totally new to CI and know little about html/php,when I read CI user guide,
a section of code in tutorial/news section confused me:

Code:
<h2><?php echo $title; ?></h2>
<?php foreach ($news as $news_item): ?>
       <h3><?php echo $news_item['title']; ?></h3>
       <div class="main">
       </div>
       <p><a href="<?php echo site_url('news/'.$news_item['slug']); ?>">View article</a></p>[code]
<?php endforeach; ?>
[/code]

Anyone who answers will be a great help to me.
Thanks!!
class="main"

Main is the class name of the div tag.

it can edit in the css page or same page.
Practice | Practice | Practice

(09-15-2015, 07:46 PM)folospace Wrote:
Code:
<div class="main">
</div>

Hi, and welcome to everything, Codeigniter, HTML, PHP, CSS, and the forum! Smile

Anyway, I think that class is an oversight in the tutorial because it's not actually defined anywhere. I'll explain briefly what it is, but it actually has nothing to do with Codeigniter. It tripped you up because you're learning everything at once.

As you now know, there's HTML and PHP, but only what's between <?php and ?> is PHP. Everything outside those bracketing devices is not PHP. In this case, the two lines with "div" in them are HTML. So what's that class="main" part?