Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Design Logic Help Requested
Lightbulb 
(This post was last modified: 07-12-2016, 11:48 PM by mwebdesign.)

Intro disclaimer: I am struggling with the overall design logic for a large application that I am solely in charge of building at my current workplace. (Please keep in mind that I have never considered myself a "PHP developer" and my boss knows this! When put in charge of this project, I knew it would be a great opportunity to learn the principles of developing a full application, but I find myself struggling with "the basics" that I never even realized I didn't know!) I am not an expert in any area of programming, and most definitely consider myself a novice here, so any constructive criticism is welcome. This being my first ever post to a programming forum asking for help, I'm hoping that my broad question will lead to a more refined discussion and some concrete options of things I can consider and places I might find good examples.

Broad overview: As one of our (the company I work for) products, we sell mobile applications built on a preconfigured (pre as in...before I came on board) "platform" which is basically one big mobile application being utilized as a template for branded versions of said template. I am tasked with building a web application which will #1) give the clients the ability to make changes to the specifics of their branded applications, and eventually #2) let the developers make more advanced changes to those same applications and/or "build" new instances of that template...and possibly in the far future #3) allow clients to build new instances of the template themselves.

Stretch goal: I really want this application to be highly scalable. For instance, I'd love to be able to deliver this application fully functioning, and let them know that "hey, we can also utilize it for future platforms without having to reprogram an entire web app from scratch!"