Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How to DRY when building back and front-ends?

Hello,

Since I'm new to MVC world, I'm spending a lot of time studying CI and looking at other's people code. One thing I noticed is that for some projects that have an "admin" and "front" part, there are a lot of repetition. Example: I'm studying a CMS code right now that duplicate a lot of files and coding. See for example how this CMS organised their template folder:

/template
    /back
        /js
            /jquery-2.x
            /jquery-ui
       /css
            /bootstrap
            /jquery-ui
    /front
        /js
            /jquery-2.x
            /jquery-ui
       /css
            /bootstrap
            /jquery-ui

They have exactly the same files in both back and front folders. I see that both back and front parts share the same foundation(bootstrap and jquery files). 

So, my question is, what is the best practice to avoid the repetition/duplication above?

Cheers,
Castle

It really depends on the admin template, it could have a modified version of Bootstrap.

The same could also be the jQuery UI most of these can be customized today to include
or not to include methods.
What did you Try? What did you Get? What did you Expect?

Joined CodeIgniter Community 2009.  ( Skype: insitfx )

(This post was last modified: 03-31-2017, 11:08 AM by PaulD.)

Having multiple instances of jquery or jqueryui or bootstrap is a terrible idea if they are indeed the same files. Spreading them around is a bad idea too. Your back end and front end can easily access the same file stored in an assets folder. Even if they are different, they should all be in one place at the very least. At some point in the future you will want to upgrade them to a newer version, far easier to upgrade one file, rather than several copies kept all over the place.

Code:
/assets
    /jquery
         /jquery2.x
         /jqueryui.admin
         /jqueryui.front
         /versions.txt