Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
About is_ajax_request

Hi! I'm new in Codeigniter, and I'm making this question because I didn't find anything about that.

So, I did an add comment system using Ajax in the view, that calls a function in my Post controller. I saw that if I went on "localhost/controller/function" I got a mysql error because some fields were "NULL". So I inserted 
PHP Code:
$this->input->is_ajax_request() 
but I was asking myself: can I bypass this check in some way? Is this secure? Can be spoofed? 

If you have some suggestion to protect my function I'll learn something new Tongue
Best regards!

Yes, it can be bypassed (easily spoofed). You don't want to use it for security. That said, you wouldn't normally show a link to that URI, so it's not likely anyone will go there. You should do some validation before making the MySQL query, because you should be rejecting NULL before allowing a query.

(07-17-2017, 02:23 PM)skunkbad Wrote: Yes, it can be bypassed (easily spoofed). You don't want to use it for security. That said, you wouldn't normally show a link to that URI, so it's not likely anyone will go there. You should do some validation before making the MySQL query, because you should be rejecting NULL before allowing a query.

Agreed, i would add that if you're approaching this from a security perspective you should assume that anyone with malicious intent will visit that page even if your regular users are unlikely to. 

If it's causing MySQL errors you should account for the data being sent to that URI (or the lack thereof) and perform some validation so your SQL query doesn't even get executed unless all required data is supplied in the right format that you expect from the front-end.