Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Please Help with routing

Hello all,  I'm starting with CI4 (used CI3 for some projects) but this is my first time using routes and I want to know what do you recommend for this:

In my new project I want to have a website, its almost only static pages with some database calls (cities and product categories) and also will have a user area where they will be able to manage products.

According to docs should be like this:

/app       <-- Everything else in the app
/website  <-- All related to website
/public
/system
/tests
/writable

Website part should have only one controller and a view for any page (only 4 pages) and should work in root like this:
domain.com   (home page)
domain.com/services
domain.com/products
domain.com/contact

App part should have everything else and should work with 'app' (or whatever) prefix like:
domain.com/app/login
domain.com/app/users
domain.com/app/products
domain.com/app/cities

Is this ok?  Can anyone help me please with a routing example for achieving this?

Also should I use .env file for app settings or is it a better practice to create a dedicated config file for my app?

If you look at the Tutorial in the CodeIgniter 4 User Guide it will explain it all to you.
What did you Try? What did you Get? What did you Expect?

Joined CodeIgniter Community 2009.  ( Skype: insitfx )

(This post was last modified: 11-04-2020, 02:06 AM by captain-sensible.)

reading the docs will explain everything thats true, but a little guidance to get you in the right direction .We all need a little help :^)

At some point there will be updates and probably updates for additional software you don't know of yet and don't think you need when you do its going to be easier with composer. So i would say give https://getcomposer.org/ a good read first.

There are options for CI4 , my preference is for appstarter which you can install using composer.