Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
porting CI3 base controller to CI4 -- __construct vs initController

I'm brand new to CI4, and trying to port my first CI3 project to it. I have a few base controller classes (AdminController, AJAXController, CLIController) that all extend my base controller, let's call it MY_Controller. MY_Controller defines a __construct function like so:

PHP Code:
class MY_Controller extends CI_Controller
{
    public function 
__construct()
    {

parent::__construct();

// try to make event reporter available immediately with temporarily NULL affected/logged in user id
        // note this refers to $this->db, assuming that has been autoloaded

$this->er = new XX_event_reporter($this->dbNULLNULLself::get_ip_address());

$this->config->load("myconfig");

$this->ac = new XX_access_control($this->db);

$this->_restore_user_object_from_session();

$logged_in_user_id = ($this->user) ? $this->user->id DB_user::GUEST_USER_ID;

// update event reporter with user details

$this->er->affected_user_id $logged_in_user_id;

$this->er->logged_in_user_id $logged_in_user_id;

if (
ENVIRONMENT == "development") {

$this->er->info("Page requested: " $_SERVER["REQUEST_URI"], XX_event_reporter::EVENT_TYPE_UNSPECIFIED);
        }

} 
// __construct()

// class MY_Controller 

However, I see that the CI4 BaseController class has an initController function and doesn't define any __construct function. I have questions:

1) Why does CI not define a __construct function instead? It seems unorthodox to define some other function.
2) If I'm porting MY_Controller to CI4, should I try and move all the contents of my __construct function instead to an initController function?