CodeIgniter Forums

Full Version: $this->lang->line with passing parameters
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Dear all,

I have the string with passing parameters as below:
$lang["error"]="this is error {0} with msg {1}"

How to pass {0} and {1} to $lang["error"] and show on php webpage??

$this->lang->line("error", "crazy", "want to do something good");
Is it possible??
Here's the idea...

$lang["error"]="this is error %s with msg %s"

then

$result = sprintf($this->lang('error'),"crazy,"want to do something good");

Display $result on your webpage or whatever.
(10-02-2015, 05:22 AM)ciadmin Wrote: [ -> ]Here's the idea...

$lang["error"]="this is error %s with msg %s"

then

$result = sprintf($this->lang('error'),"crazy,"want to do something good");

Display $result on your webpage or whatever.
This is the exact solution I was going to suggest.

If you want, you could do something like extend the lang library and either create a new method that will do this, or change the Lang::line method to look for parameters via Variadic functions, or if you dont have PHP 5.6 or later, use func_num_args to check if any arguments were passed, if not, just use the parent::line(), if there were, then handle them using func_get_args and sprintf, thats what I would do anyways.
(10-02-2015, 06:19 AM)jLinux Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-02-2015, 05:22 AM)ciadmin Wrote: [ -> ]Here's the idea...

$lang["error"]="this is error %s with msg %s"

then

$result = sprintf($this->lang('error'),"crazy,"want to do something good");

Display $result on your webpage or whatever.
This is the exact solution I was going to suggest.

If you want, you could do something like extend the lang library and either create a new method that will do this, or change the Lang::line method to look for parameters via Variadic functions, or if you dont have PHP 5.6 or later, use func_num_args to check if any arguments were passed, if not, just use the parent::line(), if there were, then handle them using func_get_args and sprintf, thats what I would do anyways.

the Variadic functions got my attention... So its like extending the Lang classs to use lang->line(line, args, args) instead of sprintf(lang->line(), ..., ...). I'd try that
(10-04-2015, 10:23 AM)sampoyigi Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-02-2015, 06:19 AM)jLinux Wrote: [ -> ]
(10-02-2015, 05:22 AM)ciadmin Wrote: [ -> ]Here's the idea...

$lang["error"]="this is error %s with msg %s"

then

$result = sprintf($this->lang('error'),"crazy,"want to do something good");

Display $result on your webpage or whatever.
This is the exact solution I was going to suggest.

If you want, you could do something like extend the lang library and either create a new method that will do this, or change the Lang::line method to look for parameters via Variadic functions, or if you dont have PHP 5.6 or later, use func_num_args to check if any arguments were passed, if not, just use the parent::line(), if there were, then handle them using func_get_args and sprintf, thats what I would do anyways.

the Variadic functions got my attention... So its like extending the Lang classs to use lang->line(line, args, args) instead of sprintf(lang->line(), ..., ...). I'd try that

Yep, thats very possible! Ive thought about doing it, but I havent gotten to the part of my app where I work on the multi-lingual stuff
If there are enough people wanting this feature, the following topic could be reconsidered: https://github.com/bcit-ci/CodeIgniter/pull/3223
Nice, the code in here is exactly what i planned on doing: https://github.com/bcit-ci/CodeIgniter/p...t-54707715
(10-04-2015, 01:58 PM)ivantcholakov Wrote: [ -> ]If there are enough people wanting this feature, the following topic could be reconsidered: https://github.com/bcit-ci/CodeIgniter/pull/3223

Thank you sharing. Looking at the code gives a better idea of the logic.