CodeIgniter Forums

Full Version: Check if database connection can be established
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
My application can be used with or without a database so I need to know if a database is correctly configured to show or hide functionalities which require a database.
How can I access to database config vars to check if they are filled?
Everything I found on the web requires to do a 
Code:
$this->load->database();

 so I can access to database vars from the 

Code:
$this->db

 object.

The problem is that if we do not have a database or if the database config file is not properly set, 
Code:
$this->load->database();

 will results in a PHP error:

Quote:Unable to connect to your database server using the provided settings.
Turn db_debug Off.
Also, please don't cross-post.
(01-30-2016, 01:03 PM)Narf Wrote: [ -> ]Also, please don't cross-post.

oh cool you check also in stackoverflow too !
(01-31-2016, 06:09 PM)freddy Wrote: [ -> ]
(01-30-2016, 01:03 PM)Narf Wrote: [ -> ]Also, please don't cross-post.

oh cool you check also in stackoverflow too !

I don't "check", I just happen to be a SO user as well.