CodeIgniter Forums

Full Version: how to prevent redirect function adding index.php to urls
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm using the CI function redirect in my web app. The problem I'm having is that if I redirect a user to /some/path/internally, then the redirect function inserts "index.php" into the url it redirects to. For example I created a controller Test:
Code:
class Test extends CI_Controller {
 public function index() {
   die(site_url("/some/path/internally"));
 }
}
The output is this:
Code:
http://example.com/index.php/some/path/internally
whereas I'd rather have it be:
Code:
http://example.com/some/path/internally
or even just
Code:
/some/path/internally

Is there some configuration setting I'm missing or something?
(01-11-2015, 03:59 PM)sneakyimp Wrote: [ -> ]I'm using the CI function redirect in my web app. The problem I'm having is that if I redirect a user to /some/path/internally, then the redirect function inserts "index.php" into the url it redirects to. For example I created a controller Test:

Code:
class Test extends CI_Controller {
 public function index() {
   die(site_url("/some/path/internally"));
 }
}
The output is this:

Code:
http://example.com/index.php/some/path/internally
whereas I'd rather have it be:

Code:
http://example.com/some/path/internally
or even just

Code:
/some/path/internally

Is there some configuration setting I'm missing or something?

apache
mod_rewrite
.htaccess
Big Grin
(01-11-2015, 06:06 PM)Wei Wrote: [ -> ]
(01-11-2015, 03:59 PM)sneakyimp Wrote: [ -> ]I'm using the CI function redirect in my web app. The problem I'm having is that if I redirect a user to /some/path/internally, then the redirect function inserts "index.php" into the url it redirects to. For example I created a controller Test:


Code:
class Test extends CI_Controller {
 public function index() {
   die(site_url("/some/path/internally"));
 }
}
The output is this:


Code:
http://example.com/index.php/some/path/internally
whereas I'd rather have it be:


Code:
http://example.com/some/path/internally
or even just


Code:
/some/path/internally

Is there some configuration setting I'm missing or something?

apache
mod_rewrite
.htaccess
Big Grin

application/config/config.php:
$config['index_page'] = "" // => remove "index.php"
And... to promote myself (again...): http://avenir.ro/codeigniter-tutorials/r...ndly-urls/
site_url() adds index.php to the url use base_url() to get rid of it.
(01-12-2015, 04:52 AM)InsiteFX Wrote: [ -> ]site_url() adds index.php to the url use base_url() to get rid of it.

That will happen only if config['index_page'] has 'index' as value.