![]() |
Insert array into database - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23) +--- Thread: Insert array into database (/showthread.php?tid=10239) Pages:
1
2
|
Insert array into database - El Forum - 07-23-2008 [eluser]bohara[/eluser] Hi, I am trying to insert a array into my database. I had this working and I am not sure why it broke. In my model I have this: Code: $reminder_id = $row['id']; The array part of my form look like this: on the interface you can add more rows through AJAX that increment the the form values like [1][1], [1][2], [1][3], and so on. Code: <tbody id="container"> I recieve the following errors: ---------------------------------------- A PHP Error was encountered Severity: Notice Message: Undefined index: shatterproof Filename: models/reminder_model.php Line Number: 67 ---------------------------------------- An Error Was Encountered Error Number: 1054 Unknown column '0' in 'field list' INSERT INTO `line_items` (`0`, `1`, `2`, `3`) VALUES ('50', '1', '2', NULL) ----------------------------------------- I hope this is enough information. Thanks in advance Insert array into database - El Forum - 07-24-2008 [eluser]bohara[/eluser] I am still stuck on this. Anyone have an idea what might be off in my code? Insert array into database - El Forum - 07-24-2008 [eluser]Randy Casburn[/eluser] You haven't given us enough information. I'm still confused by all sorts of things I see here and have avoided this post because of that. But I'll give this a shot for fear of looking like the fool that I am. Let's start with the fact that you've not shown us what the HTML actually looks like. So we cannot resolve the first error for you. It would appear to me that the first error is thrown because the name of the dropdown is defined as 'shatterproof[0][3]' since that is what you passed to the form helper function and not 'shatterproof'. The second error? Um...there isn't a column in your table called '0'. It doesn't get any simpler than that. Your query is structured improperly. Since you've not provided any of that, we can't help with any of that. It's also very, very weird to create a variable named $sql that is simply an array of form data. But maybe that's just me. Randy Insert array into database - El Forum - 07-24-2008 [eluser]bohara[/eluser] Thanks for replying. Let me see if I can clarify. The html looks like this Code: <fieldset> When you click the 'addRow' link shown above another row is inserted to the form via AJAX that looks like this. with the form values incremented by 1 (below) Code: <tr id="row0"> The function that is inserting this data in my model is as follows: Code: function add_reminder() In regards to the variable name, I agree it is lame ![]() Everything up to the for loop executes as expected. I hope that clarifies things a bit. I don't think I am to far off as this was working at one point. Although I may have just been lucky. Thanks again. Insert array into database - El Forum - 07-24-2008 [eluser]Randy Casburn[/eluser] So did you resolve the shatterproof vs. shatterproof[0][3] problem? Insert array into database - El Forum - 07-24-2008 [eluser]bohara[/eluser] Randy, I am not getting any errors at the moment. It runs through and redirects, but it doesn't insert any line_item data. Insert array into database - El Forum - 07-24-2008 [eluser]Randy Casburn[/eluser] ok... once you resolve you form field name issue, on to the next one... I think you've meant to construct your $sql array as key=>value pairs but you've made assignment statements instead. Change the assignment operators (= signs into =>) Randy Insert array into database - El Forum - 07-24-2008 [eluser]Randy Casburn[/eluser] Also....I really...really do hope you plan on sanitizing your input variables (POST) right? Going to run through the validation class and XSS clean them and all that ;-) Randy Insert array into database - El Forum - 07-24-2008 [eluser]bohara[/eluser] Absolutely. I just want this working before I add more complexity. I will try changing my operators. Beau Insert array into database - El Forum - 07-24-2008 [eluser]bohara[/eluser] Well that changed things. I have different errors now which is usually progress. I get this repeated for every form field Code: Filename: models/reminder_model.php Followed by Code: An Error Was Encountered I'm not sure why they are undefined? Or why the column count doesn't match. Beau |