CodeIgniter Forums
Dynamic Footers - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: Dynamic Footers (/showthread.php?tid=10714)

Dynamic Footers - El Forum - 08-09-2008

[eluser]wdcci[/eluser]
Hello Everyone. I just wanted to say that so far I love Code Igniter's and this forum as well. Great posts!

I am new to Code Igniter and the idea of using a MVC system. I am working on a project that requires me to create a dynamic footer that consists of 4 columns (retail, professional, health, public services) of category specific businesses displaying the company name as a link to an internal company page. This information needs to be database driven as they will add new businesses. I would like to have a template or an include that calls this information when needed (on every page actually). I don't see how I can do this without having to call the same model and load the results into the variables inside every function in my controller class. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks.

[eluser]valarkin[/eluser]
Hello wdcci, welcome to the CI forums and to CI itself!

What I would do is create a post controller hook that would append that data to what is in your display. This way the logic and code is in a single place and it allows you to have a cleaner controller. You can read up more on hooks in the user manual here: http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/general/hooks.html.

Later

[eluser]Pascal Kriete[/eluser]
There are a million ways of doing this. I would probably create a library to generate the output, autoload the library, and then call the proper function in the footer view.