![]() |
strange issues with get_where.. - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived General Discussion (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=21) +--- Thread: strange issues with get_where.. (/showthread.php?tid=10869) |
strange issues with get_where.. - El Forum - 08-15-2008 [eluser]awpti[/eluser] mysql> SELECT * FROM (`jobs`) WHERE `times_reported` > 0; Empty set (0.00 sec) But.. Code: function fetch_reported_jobs() Returns a result of 1 Result of db->last_query: SELECT * FROM (`jobs`) WHERE `times_reported` > 0 For some reason, count_all_results() is returning 1 even though it should return 0. I can't see any issue with the code in DB_active_rec.php Thoughts? strange issues with get_where.. - El Forum - 08-16-2008 [eluser]awpti[/eluser] The only way to get around this seems to be to manually issue a query. Even $this->db->where(..) returns one when it should return 0. The query it returns via last_query returns an empty result set when run against the DB directly, but CI sees it as a result of 1. Weird! strange issues with get_where.. - El Forum - 08-16-2008 [eluser]adamfairholm[/eluser] awpti - Just wanted to chime in that I've also had this issue - got around it with a manual query like you did. You're not alone! strange issues with get_where.. - El Forum - 09-23-2008 [eluser]jeffpeck[/eluser] Perhaps the DB is drawing from cache. Try turning caching off if you have it on and try again. strange issues with get_where.. - El Forum - 10-02-2008 [eluser]Derek Allard[/eluser] count_all_results() isn't intended to be used after results have been brought back... that would be num_rows(), this function is intended to simply return the number of results with some restrictions. So in this case the query would be Code: $this->db->where('jobs', 'times_reported > 0'); strange issues with get_where.. - El Forum - 01-18-2009 [eluser]rlopez[/eluser] Whew. This was causing a *LOT* of pain. Changing count_all_results to num_rows helped. Perhaps Derek's explanation should be on the documentation? Thanks for helping, Derek strange issues with get_where.. - El Forum - 01-18-2009 [eluser]Derek Allard[/eluser] Code: echo $this->db->count_all_results('my_table'); Thanks for the feedback rlopez, how could I make this more clear in the future? strange issues with get_where.. - El Forum - 01-18-2009 [eluser]rlopez[/eluser] I would note on the count_all_results section, that this function is not to be used to verify if at least one row was returned, and point the reader to the num_rows function instead ![]() strange issues with get_where.. - El Forum - 01-18-2009 [eluser]xwero[/eluser] I think this is a non issue. If the idea is to get row count you use Code: $this->db->where('times_reported >',0); Code: $this->db->get_where('jobs', 'times_reported > 0'); I think the AR methods are descriptive enough to make it a one time mistake. |