![]() |
Question About Validation Class - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23) +--- Thread: Question About Validation Class (/showthread.php?tid=11069) |
Question About Validation Class - El Forum - 08-25-2008 [eluser]gedev2006[/eluser] Hi I know you can set rules to the validation class as such: $rules['item_name'] = "trim|alpha" and so forth WHat i need to have is a field that allows alpha_dash, and allow the bracket symbols ().But the only way i can get the brackets in is alpha or alpha_numeric but then the alpha_dash doesnt work correctly any ideas? cheers g Question About Validation Class - El Forum - 08-25-2008 [eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser] Do a custom callback method. Question About Validation Class - El Forum - 08-25-2008 [eluser]gedev2006[/eluser] Yeh i thought of that, but then would you check the rules the exact same way ?? Also, in the custom error fields say: $fields['zip'] = "Zip Code"; Codeigniter adds its own message to the end so the output of the error would read something like Zip Code field may only contain alpha-numeric characters. How do i prevent code igniter adding "field may only contain alpha-numeric characters." to the end so its a completely custom error message. $this->validation->set_message ( "zip", "bla bla" ) does nothing! Question About Validation Class - El Forum - 08-25-2008 [eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser] The set_message method needs the name of the callback method as the first param, not the name of the field. |