![]() |
update('value', 'value' + 1) - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived General Discussion (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=21) +--- Thread: update('value', 'value' + 1) (/showthread.php?tid=11535) |
update('value', 'value' + 1) - El Forum - 09-12-2008 [eluser]eldiablo[/eluser] hi, i want to add one the a value in the db this work in start mysql terms mysql_query("UPDATE mytable SET `value`=`value`+50 WHERE `id`="$userId); i have tried update('value', 'value' + 1) and various other variations and that doesn't work anyone have any suggestions thanks update('value', 'value' + 1) - El Forum - 09-12-2008 [eluser]Bramme[/eluser] It's not working because you haven't read the manual properly. Try Code: $this->db->update('mytable', array('value' => 'value + 1')); Code: $this->db->query("UPDATE mytable SET `value`=`value`+50 WHERE `id`="$userId"); update('value', 'value' + 1) - El Forum - 09-12-2008 [eluser]xwero[/eluser] Escaping the field name is the cause of the problem so if you add value=value+50 to the sql statement it will be fine. As an alternative you can use the AR set method. Code: $this->db->set('value','value+50',FALSE)->where('id',$userid)->update('mytable'); update('value', 'value' + 1) - El Forum - 09-12-2008 [eluser]eldiablo[/eluser] Hi, thanks for the replies i got these to work: $this->db->query("UPDATE mytable SET `value`=`value`+1 WHERE `id`=".$id); and $this->db->where('id', $id); $this->db->set('value', 'value+ 1',false); $this->db->update('mytable'); thanks guys update('value', 'value' + 1) - El Forum - 09-12-2008 [eluser]Bramme[/eluser] With pleasure. Must admit I like xwero's code better though. Chaining is so pretty. PHP5 only though! update('value', 'value' + 1) - El Forum - 09-25-2008 [eluser]sikkle[/eluser] Hey Xwero, $this->db->set('value','value+1',FALSE)->where('id',$userid)->update('mytable'); I have a weird issue with that, it's seem that the system is trying to do +2. Indeed if i go directly insire phpmyadmin and do UPDATE table SET value = value+1 where id = 1; that work pretty well. i use the 1.7 svn version of ci, if someone got two minute to give a test. thanks ! update('value', 'value' + 1) - El Forum - 09-25-2008 [eluser]xwero[/eluser] I never had problem with it and i don't think there are changes in the AR library as far as i know. update('value', 'value' + 1) - El Forum - 09-25-2008 [eluser]sikkle[/eluser] Ok i will try to keep debugging it, i doesnt seem to understand it so far. nowaday, thanks ! update('value', 'value' + 1) - El Forum - 09-29-2008 [eluser]sikkle[/eluser] baaah, sometime you just work too much ![]() thanks guys, my bad all the way.. |