CodeIgniter Forums
Is this really ActiveRecord? - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived General Discussion (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=21)
+--- Thread: Is this really ActiveRecord? (/showthread.php?tid=11555)

Is this really ActiveRecord? - El Forum - 09-13-2008

[eluser]7bit[/eluser]
Hello,

I'm new to CI and am in the process of exploring the possibilities of the framework. So far I looks very nice to me. But I have a question regarding the ORM:

In the manual it says you should derive your domain objects from the class Model. It also says it is using some kind of ActiveRecord, but looking inside the declaration of the Model class i can't see any reference to any built in ActiveRecord functionality. I would have expected that I just can declare a class Foo that would extend Model, declare just a few variables to tell the model about its relationships to other tables and then it would automatically have all needed functionality to represent fully working 'foo' objects transparently connected to the 'foo' table, able to load, update, save and pull in other objects that represent data in related tables and so on. Instead the manual states that I have to manually declare functions like find_foo(), find_bar(), save(), do_whatever() and inside all this manually written functions i have to manually call almost naked db driver functions like $this->db->get(), $this->db->insert(), $this->db->update(), $this->db->foobar() over and over again. This doesn't look like anything near ActiveRecord at all.

(?)