CodeIgniter Forums
how to retrieve a get - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-20.html)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-23.html)
+--- Thread: how to retrieve a get (/thread-16479.html)



how to retrieve a get - El Forum - 03-08-2009

[eluser]aktosci[/eluser]
I would like to make a link like that
Code:
< a h r ef=index.php?id=2 >edit</a>

I don't know how to do it with CI

In my next page, I have the variable $REQUEST[id] and I cant continue my work. And this value will be 2

I am looking for examples.

My goal is to create a simple app

I have a table with 2 fields id, name

- add data in a table ( I can do that )
- delete data
- update date
- list data ( I can do that whith CI )


how to retrieve a get - El Forum - 03-08-2009

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
Have you tried:
Code:
$this->input->get('id');



how to retrieve a get - El Forum - 03-08-2009

[eluser]aktosci[/eluser]
It does not work because I cannot make a url with ?id=2
But only like that edit/2

And the 2 is supose to be my id.
first problem : Before I knew that it was my id now I just know that it is my fist parameter. But I can manage

If I create a url like this
seminaire/edit
it works

but with url
/edit?id=2

I got


404 Page Not Found

The page you requested was not found.


how to retrieve a get - El Forum - 03-08-2009

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
OK, you either need to stick with using URL segments, in which case you might want to take a look at my [url="http://ellislab.com/forums/viewthread/106502/"]Alternate URI Syntax library[/url], as it allows you to send key-value pairs safely via get without the need for query strings. Or you can enable query strings in your config.php file. Your syntax is incorrect for using query strings. The question mark should come after the index page, and should be in a forum similar to this: mysite.com/index.php?c=controller&m=method&arg1=some_data&arg2=34 and so on...


how to retrieve a get - El Forum - 03-08-2009

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
aktosci you need to route your url if you want to shorten it.

The GET global values are destroyed by default. You need to change the uri_protocol to a path_info setting that works on your server and set the enable_query_strings to true. Then you can use GET.


how to retrieve a get - El Forum - 03-08-2009

[eluser]aktosci[/eluser]
Thank you for your guidance

I just add this

$id = $this->uri->segment(3);

And I have my variable $id for my next lignes of code

thank you very much :

I did one step further ... I still have few km to do !!! lol


how to retrieve a get - El Forum - 03-08-2009

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="aktosci" date="1236539178"]
I just add this

$id = $this->uri->segment(3);
[/quote]

aktosci - you need to read through this section of the user manual again:
[url="http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/general/controllers.html"]http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/general/controllers.html[/url]

Specifically the section called: Passing URI Segments to your Functions

I suggest things are probably a lot easier than you are making them. Assuming otherwise was the mistake I made when I first started playing with CI - and it's a very easy mistake to make!


how to retrieve a get - El Forum - 03-10-2009

[eluser]aktosci[/eluser]
Jedd

You are right

I could do

My old function
Code:
function edit()
    {
        $id = $this->uri->segment(3);
...
}

My new function
Code:
function edit($id)
    {
...
}
I should really read and reread all the documentation !!

Thanks


how to retrieve a get - El Forum - 05-30-2009

[eluser]aktosci[/eluser]
Do you have any solution for a clean native authentification ?