CodeIgniter Forums
how to use prdefined array globally ? - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: how to use prdefined array globally ? (/showthread.php?tid=16505)



how to use prdefined array globally ? - El Forum - 03-09-2009

[eluser]runrun[/eluser]
Hi,

I have an personal predefined array, where should I put it in CI, and how to call it ?


how to use prdefined array globally ? - El Forum - 03-09-2009

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="runrun" date="1236607041"]
I have an personal predefined array, where should I put it in CI, and how to call it ?[/quote]

How much data is in it, and how often does your code reference it?


how to use prdefined array globally ? - El Forum - 03-09-2009

[eluser]runrun[/eluser]
Like this
Code:
//translated date (english->vietnamese)
$aTranslated = array(
        'vietnamese' => array(
            'Thứ hai',
            'Thứ ba',
            'Thứ tư',
            'Thứ năm',
            'Thứ sáu',
            'Thứ bảy',
            'Chủ nhật',
        ),
        'english' => array(
            'Monday',
            'Tuesday',
            'Wednesday',
            'Thursday',
            'Friday',
            'Saturday',
            'Sunday',
        ),
    );



how to use prdefined array globally ? - El Forum - 03-09-2009

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Okay, if that's the extent of your data then you have a few options.

You could conceivably piggyback the config.php file - but I think that'd be ugly.

You could push that amount of data into your session - you've got 4K or so to work with there, remember.

But I really think you'd be better off handling this as a language problem, and use the relevant features of CI.

Have you read:

[url="http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/libraries/language.html"]http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/libraries/language.html[/url]

and

[url="http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/helpers/language_helper.html"]http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/helpers/language_helper.html[/url]


how to use prdefined array globally ? - El Forum - 03-09-2009

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
You could also put it in your config.php file. It's very purpose is to load variables and make them available throughout your application.

EDIT: Sorry, I missed the line where Jedd mentioned using the config.php.


how to use prdefined array globally ? - El Forum - 03-09-2009

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
I agree with jedd this should go in language files. For English there is already the calendar_lang file you can use.


how to use prdefined array globally ? - El Forum - 03-09-2009

[eluser]runrun[/eluser]
Thank you