CodeIgniter Forums
Checking a session in a hook - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: Checking a session in a hook (/showthread.php?tid=18403)

Pages: 1 2

Checking a session in a hook - El Forum - 05-05-2009

[eluser]devvee[/eluser]
Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new with Code Igniter and right now I'm trying out a few things. I downloaded the simplelogin library which lets me log in and creates a session. This, of course, works without any issues.

I figured I'd build a session check to prevent unauthorized people from accessing the website. Since every single bit of the website with the exception of the login area is closed off, I created a hook to perform this session check.

At first I enabled hooks and defined the hook in config/hooks.php. I called it "auth_hook" because it checks for authorization.
Code:
$hook['post_controller_constructor'] = array(
    'class'    => 'Auth_hook',
    'function' => 'check',
    'filename' => 'auth_hook.php',
    'filepath' => 'hooks'
    );

Code:
class Auth_hook extends Controller {

function Auth_hook()
    {
        parent::Controller();
    }

function check()
    {
        echo $this->session->userdata('username');
    }

}

When I access a page, the hook gets initiated properly but it throws an error:
Fatal error: Call to a member function userdata() on a non-object in C:\xampp\htdocs\codeigniter\system\application\hooks\auth_hook.php on line 10

At first I tried using "pre_controller" in hooks.php, but that just moved the error away from hooks.php into the controller I was calling, if that controller also tried to get the session userdata.

I've looked around a bit but I can't seem to figure out how to fix it.