CodeIgniter Forums
Confused about sessions - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: Confused about sessions (/showthread.php?tid=18552)

Pages: 1 2

Confused about sessions - El Forum - 05-10-2009

[eluser]gunzour[/eluser]
Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to CodeIgniter so please bear with me. Smile I've been trying to make heads or tails of CI's session support and the documentation is leaving me confused. So I have several questions:

- If I use CI's session class and configure it to store sessions in a database table, does this replace storing the user data in a cookie? Or is it stored in both places? The user guide doesn't seem to answer this.

- Does anyone know if the Native_session library at http://codeigniter.com/wiki/Native_session/ is compatible with the current version of CI? (It appears to be for CI 1.5)

- Any support for (or plans to support) storing CI session data in memcached?

- If I want to, can I just ignore CI's session class and use native PHP sessions directly?

- If I did this (used native PHP sessions directly), where would be the best place for me to place session_start()? In the constructor of a controller? In a "header" view? In a hook?

Thanks for your help. Smile

[eluser]Dam1an[/eluser]
When you use the database for sessions, only the default session data is stored on the client end (session_id, ip_address, user_agent and last_activity).
These are also stored in the database so they can be validated, along with all your userdata (which means you can store a lot more session data)

You can ignore CI sessions, and use native PHP sessions ($_SESSION)
If you did, I would put session_start() in the index.php, another good place would be a pre_system hook