CodeIgniter Forums
Image Manipulation Class & max image size - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: Image Manipulation Class & max image size (/showthread.php?tid=18808)

Pages: 1 2


Image Manipulation Class & max image size - El Forum - 05-19-2009

[eluser]hendrik[/eluser]
I'll attempt that but I doubt it as I develop on a local server. Thanks for your help so far. I appreciate it.


Image Manipulation Class & max image size - El Forum - 05-19-2009

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
8MB is tiny. And it's not all dedicated to the GD2 stuff - it's doing other stuff in there too, ya know.

Turn logging on within PHP. Then tail -f your web server's error log when you try to hit the page. If you're on a real operating system this is done with:
Code:
#   tail  -f  /var/log/apache2/error.log

Count the seconds it takes before the thing fails (if it's 30, or whatever number matches your timeout, then you've solved it).


Image Manipulation Class & max image size - El Forum - 05-19-2009

[eluser]tekhneek[/eluser]
8MB < 100MB


Image Manipulation Class & max image size - El Forum - 05-19-2009

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="tekhneek" date="1242771156"]8MB < 100MB[/quote]

Well, it's certainly hard to argue with that.


Image Manipulation Class & max image size - El Forum - 05-19-2009

[eluser]Dam1an[/eluser]
[quote author="jedd" date="1242770156"] If you're on a real operating system this is done with:
Code:
#   tail  -f  /var/log/apache2/error.log
[/quote]

Take it someones a fan of UNIX (quite rightly) Smile

If you're on Windows, and need to view logs in real time, you can use Bare tail


Image Manipulation Class & max image size - El Forum - 08-05-2009

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I've been using xampp in windows for one of my CI projects and I had the same issue with image resizing limits, problem went away when opened the php.ini file in xampp/php/ and changed the following setting:

memory_limit = 16M ; Maximum amount of memory a script may consume (16MB)

to:

memory_limit = 128M ; Maximum amount of memory a script may consume (16MB)

not an ideal solution but hey it works...