CodeIgniter Forums
Extending Controller & _output() - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived General Discussion (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=21)
+--- Thread: Extending Controller & _output() (/showthread.php?tid=1989)

Extending Controller & _output() - El Forum - 07-10-2007

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I'm new to CI.

I want to extend the main Controller so that a function will be included in all of my controllers.
My problem is the view within views. I've found a view library that seems to do the job i want. But I don't want to have to keep doing
Code:
$this->view->part('left_column', 'left_column.php');  // (file extensions added for clarity)
$this->view->part('right_column', 'right_column.php');
$this->view->load('main_template');

in every controller.
So I wanted to put a _output function in every controller by default. If I put the _output function in every controller, it works fine. But again, it's having to put the same code in every page.

Which is where extending the base controller would come in.
However, when I tried to extend the controller using
Code:
<?php

class MY_Controller extends CI_Controller
{
    function _output($string)
    {
        echo "_output()<br/>";
    }
}
?&gt;
in system/application/libraries/MY_Controller.php I get
Quote:Fatal error: Class 'CI_Controller' not found in C:\Documents and Settings\Luke\My Documents\Web Sites\dating\index\system\application\libraries\MY_Controller.php on line 3
When I change "CI_Controller" to "Controller" it works fine. But it doesn't call the _output function.

I suppose I could just create a normal output function and include it as a helper or something and then pass the controller through as an object, but it's not very elegant.