CodeIgniter Forums
face book application and google application - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-20.html)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-23.html)
+--- Thread: face book application and google application (/thread-20957.html)



face book application and google application - El Forum - 07-26-2009

[eluser]searain[/eluser]
My face book application

http://apps.facebook.com/locationanddirection/

the url is on http://cifacebook.foliosystems.ca/, and it is a ci site.

And to add a google application which is at http://php.foliosystems.ca/google/map.php to face book application. I use the following codes.

<fb:iframe src="http://php.foliosystems.ca/google/map.php" smartsize=true></fb:iframe>

It is working fine.

But if I change the google application http://php.foliosystems.ca/google/map.php to anther domain using CI too, such as http://codeigniter.foliosystems.ca/google_map/

I will use http://codeigniter.foliosystems.ca/google_map/ instead of http://php.foliosystems.ca/google/map.php.

The face book code will be

<fb:iframe src="http://codeigniter.foliosystems.ca/google_map/" smartsize=true></fb:iframe>

Then I cannot see the google map application, I will get the page not available error.

Why in <fb:iframe src="..." smartsize=true></fb:iframe>

I cannot use another ci site as the src?

In simple words, face book is on CI, and I cannot put google map application on another ci site.

Thanks!


face book application and google application - El Forum - 07-26-2009

[eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser]
Have you asked this in Facebook dev forums? I don't see how this is a CI issue since the page loads fine outside of Facebook.


face book application and google application - El Forum - 07-26-2009

[eluser]searain[/eluser]
Yes. I did ask in face book forum too.

Well, it seems to me that is a CI related issue. Because if the src of google application I gave is a traditional php site, there is no problem. But if the src of the google application is a CI site, then it gives error message like page not found. (although if i directly access the google application on the ci site, it is fine.


face book application and google application - El Forum - 07-26-2009

[eluser]searain[/eluser]
I found this thread.

http://www.simpleprojectz.com/2008/10/facebook-codeigniter/

Instead set up

$config['uri_protocol'] = “PATH_INFO”;

like this thread said, I need to set

$config['uri_protocol'] = "ORIG_PATH_INFO";

It works fine now.

But I am so sure what is the logic here.

In simple words

$config['uri_protocol'] = "ORIG_PATH_INFO";

to make the fb iframe work, why?