![]() |
Domain and Subdomain sharing the same CI files - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23) +--- Thread: Domain and Subdomain sharing the same CI files (/showthread.php?tid=21945) |
Domain and Subdomain sharing the same CI files - El Forum - 08-25-2009 [eluser]MEM[/eluser] Please I need your help: Issue: I have the following domain: http://www.mysite.com I want to have the following subdomain: http://admin.mysite.com They both should share the same 'application' and 'system' folders (they are one level up on the host directory). www - www - admin private - application - system When the user makes http://admin.mysite.com (a default login controller should be called). When the user makes http://www.mysite.com (a default homepage controller should be called). In this scenario, what shoud we put on the application/config.php file? $config['base_url'] = "http://whats.should.I.put.here"; ? [UPDATE] Ok. I realise that is something to do with the router file but, the examples seem to be related with first segment of the URI, second segment of the URI... But I believe: http://admin.mysite.com is not on the first segment so, something like this: $route['admin'] = 'admin/login/' or something, will never work. ![]() I just need a push to be on the right track please... [/UPDADE] Please I'm stuck here... Márcio Domain and Subdomain sharing the same CI files - El Forum - 08-25-2009 [eluser]Phil Sturgeon[/eluser] You can't really do this without LOTS of hacking. I would recommend you do something like: config.php Code: $config['base_url'] = 'http://'.$_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'].'/'; .htaccess Code: RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^admin.mysite.com [NC] That means if you go on admin.mysite.com it will redirect anything after the / to the admin controller. It also means your URL's will continue to work inside the admin section as you are telling CodeIgniter to use whatever HTTP_HOST it is being accessed under, and we already know that to be admin.mysite.com. Let me know how it goes! Domain and Subdomain sharing the same CI files - El Forum - 08-25-2009 [eluser]MEM[/eluser] Thanks a lot for your reply. [quote author="Phil Sturgeon" date="1251229829"] .htaccess Code: RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^admin.mysite.com [NC] That means if you go on admin.mysite.com it will redirect anything after the / to the admin controller.[/quote] Ok. But I suppose I will not have an admin controller. I will have an admin folder inside my application/controller/ called admin, and inside that folder, I would have my controllers. For example: Let's say I have a public product list method on my products controller, the correspondent URI should be something like this: http://www.mysite.com/products/list And it will point to: /private/application/controller/products.php Let's say I have a private product insert method on my admin products controller, the correspondent URI should look like this: http://admin.mysite.com/admin/products/insert It will point to /private/application/controller/admin/products.php Does your solution still applies here? And more important... If it was you, would you do something like this? Would you use a sub-domain like this, or do you believe that, since we are sharing so many resources between domain and subdomain, the subdomain gets a little bit "extra" on this scenario? Regards, Márcio Domain and Subdomain sharing the same CI files - El Forum - 08-25-2009 [eluser]MEM[/eluser] Phil Sturgeon, I thank you for your reply. After a while however, I realise that this was not a big thing to do. Since I'm CI newbie, I will stay with the admin folder solution for now. Kind Regards and sorry for any inconvenience, Márcio Domain and Subdomain sharing the same CI files - El Forum - 08-25-2009 [eluser]Phil Sturgeon[/eluser] Check out some soultions for getting admin folder structures working. This method would work find if you follow the sub-directory route. Instead of a sub-directory you would have a sub-domain, which would be mapped to the sub0directory... if that makes sense. :-) |