CodeIgniter Forums
[Resolved] Query returns results in phpMyAdmin but doesn't with ActiveRecord - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: [Resolved] Query returns results in phpMyAdmin but doesn't with ActiveRecord (/showthread.php?tid=26829)

Pages: 1 2


[Resolved] Query returns results in phpMyAdmin but doesn't with ActiveRecord - El Forum - 01-24-2010

[eluser]kirkaracha[/eluser]
I have this query in my model:
Code:
public function get_person_office_info($person_office_id) {
    $this->db->select('
        people_offices.office_start_date,
        people_offices.office_end_date
    ');
    $this->db->where('id',$person_office_id);
    $this->db->limit('1');
    $results = $this->db->get('people_offices');
    return $results;
} // get_person_office_info

That doesn't any results, even though I know there are results from looking at the database.

$this->db->last_query()):
Code:
SELECT `people_offices`.`office_start_date`, `people_offices`.`office_end_date` FROM (`people_offices`) WHERE `id` = '53' LIMIT 1

When I copy that query into phpMyAdmin, it returns the expected results.

Here's how I'm calling it from the controller:
Code:
$person_office_id = $this->uri->segment(3,0);
$person_office_info = $this->People_model->get_person_office_info($person_office_id);

get_where doesn't work, either:
Code:
public function get_person_office_info($person_office_id) {
    $results = $this->db->get_where('people_offices', array('id' => $person_office_id),1,0);
    return $results;
} // get_person_office_info

Produces:
Code:
SELECT * FROM (`people_offices`) WHERE `id` = '53' LIMIT 1

Again, works in phpMyAdmin, doesn't work in CI.


[Resolved] Query returns results in phpMyAdmin but doesn't with ActiveRecord - El Forum - 01-24-2010

[eluser]JHackamack[/eluser]
Have you made sure you are calling the correct database in your config file?


[Resolved] Query returns results in phpMyAdmin but doesn't with ActiveRecord - El Forum - 01-24-2010

[eluser]kirkaracha[/eluser]
Yes. I know the $person_office_id is a valid database ID because it's generated from a query.


[Resolved] Query returns results in phpMyAdmin but doesn't with ActiveRecord - El Forum - 01-24-2010

[eluser]JHackamack[/eluser]
I wasn't talking about the ID value, I was talking about the
database.php file in the Application/Config directory

Making sure the database name is correctly set


[Resolved] Query returns results in phpMyAdmin but doesn't with ActiveRecord - El Forum - 01-24-2010

[eluser]kirkaracha[/eluser]
Yes, the database name is correct. If it wasn't, I wouldn't be able to do the initial query.


[Resolved] Query returns results in phpMyAdmin but doesn't with ActiveRecord - El Forum - 01-24-2010

[eluser]JHackamack[/eluser]
When you say the query doesn't work what do you mean? It loads a blank white page, it comes up with a MySQL Error? Do you have a piece of the view that you can paste in?


[Resolved] Query returns results in phpMyAdmin but doesn't with ActiveRecord - El Forum - 01-24-2010

[eluser]kirkaracha[/eluser]
The view loads fine, without any database errors. The result_array is empty when I do var_dump($this->db->last_query());

Code:
object(CI_DB_mysql_result)#20 (7) {
  ["conn_id"]=>
  resource(28) of type (mysql link persistent)
  ["result_id"]=>
  resource(42) of type (mysql result)
  ["result_array"]=>
  array(0) {
  }
  ["result_object"]=>
  array(0) {
  }
  ["current_row"]=>
  int(0)
  ["num_rows"]=>
  int(1)
  ["row_data"]=>
  NULL
}



[Resolved] Query returns results in phpMyAdmin but doesn't with ActiveRecord - El Forum - 01-24-2010

[eluser]JHackamack[/eluser]
How are you calling the result array?

Is it something like this?
Code:
foreach($results->result() as $row) {
print_r($row);
}



[Resolved] Query returns results in phpMyAdmin but doesn't with ActiveRecord - El Forum - 01-24-2010

[eluser]JanDoToDo[/eluser]
As above...
What does this do?

$results = $this -> db -> get()
$return = $results -> result_array();
var_dump($return);


[Resolved] Query returns results in phpMyAdmin but doesn't with ActiveRecord - El Forum - 01-24-2010

[eluser]kirkaracha[/eluser]
I'm at a sports bar, will check this evening.