CodeIgniter Forums
URL without 'index.php' on GoDaddy Hosting. SOS Help me to avoid switching to CakePHP - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: URL without 'index.php' on GoDaddy Hosting. SOS Help me to avoid switching to CakePHP (/showthread.php?tid=26989)

Pages: 1 2


URL without 'index.php' on GoDaddy Hosting. SOS Help me to avoid switching to CakePHP - El Forum - 01-28-2010

[eluser]Stephane02[/eluser]
Hi,

First of all, I know that you will ask me to change hosting service but my customers are not willing to take another host. I'm considering to switch to CakePHP which seems not having this issue at all but I love CI so much that I'm making my last attempt to fix this, maybe I can find someone, somewhere in the world who succeeded to run CI on Godaddy without the index.php in the url.

All I have been able to do til now is just to remove the '?' in the urls, so they look like:

http://www.website.com/CI/index.php/controller/method

I am using the following settings:

$config['index_page'] = "index.php";
$config['uri_protocol'] = "AUTO";

Can you help me to have my urls looking like:

http://www.website.com/CI/index.php/controller/method

Thx for your help

Stephane


URL without 'index.php' on GoDaddy Hosting. SOS Help me to avoid switching to CakePHP - El Forum - 01-28-2010

[eluser]danmontgomery[/eluser]
try searching?


URL without 'index.php' on GoDaddy Hosting. SOS Help me to avoid switching to CakePHP - El Forum - 01-28-2010

[eluser]Stephane02[/eluser]
It works only like this:
http://www.website.com/CI/index.php?/controller/method/

and when I go to http://www.website.com/CI/controller/method/

I get a 404 page found.

And my config is:

$config['index_page'] = "index.php?";
$config['uri_protocol'] = "QUERY_STRING";

HTACCESS contains:

RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /index.php?$1 [L]

htaccess file was directly made on Linux hosting not windows


URL without 'index.php' on GoDaddy Hosting. SOS Help me to avoid switching to CakePHP - El Forum - 01-28-2010

[eluser]danmontgomery[/eluser]
Do you get the Codeigniter 404 or an apache 404? Is your htaccess in the CI directory? Because it looks like it's looking for index.php in /, not in /CI


URL without 'index.php' on GoDaddy Hosting. SOS Help me to avoid switching to CakePHP - El Forum - 01-28-2010

[eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser]
Do your customers know that the extent of your knowledge merely approaches resolving file system paths?


URL without 'index.php' on GoDaddy Hosting. SOS Help me to avoid switching to CakePHP - El Forum - 01-29-2010

[eluser]Stephane02[/eluser]
Yes, I am using the folder CI


URL without 'index.php' on GoDaddy Hosting. SOS Help me to avoid switching to CakePHP - El Forum - 01-29-2010

[eluser]Stephane02[/eluser]
Also, I'm getting apache 404 not CI 404 error


URL without 'index.php' on GoDaddy Hosting. SOS Help me to avoid switching to CakePHP - El Forum - 01-29-2010

[eluser]Stephane02[/eluser]
The .htaccess file is in the CI folder where my files are located.


URL without 'index.php' on GoDaddy Hosting. SOS Help me to avoid switching to CakePHP - El Forum - 01-29-2010

[eluser]Stephane02[/eluser]
I have tried the following:

RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /CI/index.php?$1 [L]

and now I get "No input file specified." when I go to http://www.website.com/CI/controller/method/


URL without 'index.php' on GoDaddy Hosting. SOS Help me to avoid switching to CakePHP - El Forum - 01-29-2010

[eluser]Stephane02[/eluser]
And when I go to http://www.website.com/CI/index.php/controller/method/ I get CodeIgniter welcome page
It works only when I go to http://www.website.com/CI/index.php?/controller/method/