CodeIgniter Forums
free hosting that works with CI ? - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-20.html)
+--- Forum: Archived General Discussion (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-21.html)
+--- Thread: free hosting that works with CI ? (/thread-27070.html)



free hosting that works with CI ? - El Forum - 01-31-2010

[eluser]sasori[/eluser]
hi, is there anyone of you who knows any "FREE" hosting service
that "WORKS" with "CI" ?

i have just tested 2 different free webhost providers
and none of them work even if my configurations are correct
i even had a chat with the staffs and they rather
asked me to use cakephp, LOL, what a joke Sad


free hosting that works with CI ? - El Forum - 01-31-2010

[eluser]Mr. Fulop[/eluser]
Hi Sasori
The whole idea behind CI is to be used on different scenarios (servers/configurations).
What do you understand by "none of them work"?
Maybe I can help you.


free hosting that works with CI ? - El Forum - 01-31-2010

[eluser]sasori[/eluser]
the db config for those two hosts are properly set up, I asked one of the staffs of the webhost for my first
URL, he said, my db config is correct and he doesn't know what's wrong with it. he said I should use cakephp.arghhh....

that's why am asking here in this forum if you know any free hosting site that is good for testing CI apps

Code:
$db['default']['hostname'] = "localhost";
$db['default']['username'] = "myusername";
$db['default']['password'] = "mypassword";
$db['default']['database'] = "mydatabasename";
$db['default']['dbdriver'] = "mysql";
$db['default']['dbprefix'] = "";
$db['default']['pconnect'] = TRUE;
$db['default']['db_debug'] = TRUE;
$db['default']['cache_on'] = FALSE;
$db['default']['cachedir'] = "";
$db['default']['char_set'] = "utf8";
$db['default']['dbcollat'] = "utf8_general_ci";



free hosting that works with CI ? - El Forum - 01-31-2010

[eluser]Mr. Fulop[/eluser]
I am currently developing a website for a client on a shared host (not free) which is http://globehosting.net/ .
For what I have worked until now, CI works like a charm. For sending emails I used the CI's smtp option after setting everything up in Cpanel.
Now, it really much depends on what web hosting package you opt for. Usually the web hosting companies have different servers for different hosting packages.


free hosting that works with CI ? - El Forum - 01-31-2010

[eluser]sasori[/eluser]
i edited my second reply in this thread. I made it worked
i set the
$db['default']['pconnect'] = TRUE;
to
$db['default']['pconnect'] = FALSE;
and it worked like a charm Smile


free hosting that works with CI ? - El Forum - 01-31-2010

[eluser]cahva[/eluser]
EDIT: Damn too slow Wink

Had to try the Zymic free hosting and why it didnt work Smile

Well I got it to work. You have to set persistent connect to FALSE
Code:
$db['default']['pconnect'] = FALSE;

Although, I would not personally use that hosting as the performance is very low. The initial welcome screen was generated from 0.3secs to 15.0 secs, and usually on the slower side. See for your self Smile :

http://cahva.zzl.org/

EDIT 2: Heh.. Well not it is giving consistent ~0.3 - ~1.0 secs. So I dont know..


free hosting that works with CI ? - El Forum - 01-31-2010

[eluser]sasori[/eluser]
i just did. see the last reply, right before your post Smile . thanks anyway


free hosting that works with CI ? - El Forum - 01-31-2010

[eluser]Mr. Fulop[/eluser]
Good to know!