![]() |
Libraries - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23) +--- Thread: Libraries (/showthread.php?tid=2770) |
Libraries - El Forum - 08-23-2007 [eluser]codelearn[/eluser] Quick question about Libraries. Is there a way to pass variables to the Library other than through the constructor? I have vars in the class itself that I want to set dynamically from the controller. I am just getting started building my own libraries and thus am a little confused. Thanks all! Libraries - El Forum - 08-23-2007 [eluser]coolfactor[/eluser] Here is one approach. Code: $this->load->library('sample'); Libraries - El Forum - 08-23-2007 [eluser]codelearn[/eluser] And then in the library $var2 would have value of 'value2'? Libraries - El Forum - 08-23-2007 [eluser]coolfactor[/eluser] [quote author="codelearn" date="1187907068"]And then in the library $var2 would have value of 'value2'?[/quote] The following is how you'd access var2: Code: $this->var2 It would be an object variable. Libraries - El Forum - 08-23-2007 [eluser]codelearn[/eluser] Coolfactor: I tried that. In the controller I put: Code: $this->load->library('Weather'); In the library I put Code: class Weather And I am getting Quote:Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_VARIABLE in /home/cldev/public_html/includes/application/libraries/Weather.php on line 40 Line 40 is var $zipcode = $this->zp1; Any ideas? Thanks. Libraries - El Forum - 08-23-2007 [eluser]coolfactor[/eluser] You need to study up on object-oriented programming a bit more. ![]() In your controller, just assignn the "zipcode" directly: Code: $this->weather->zipcode = '01810'; No need to pass it through a different variable. Libraries - El Forum - 08-23-2007 [eluser]codelearn[/eluser] Thanks! Just starting to make libraries. |