CodeIgniter Forums
Stupid question about include() - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived General Discussion (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=21)
+--- Thread: Stupid question about include() (/showthread.php?tid=2818)

Stupid question about include() - El Forum - 08-26-2007

[eluser]Phoenixheart[/eluser]
(Sorry, but I am new to CI)
Assuming I have a controller at projects.php, in which I have GetProjects() function. Also I have a view called projects_view.php.
I wanted to call GetProjects() along with the view. So in projects_view.php I put this code:
Code:
// my HTML here
<?php
    include('index.php/projects/GetProjects');
?>
// my HTML here
But I received this error:
Code:
Message: include(index.php/projects/GetProjects) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory
Does it mean we can't use php's include() with CI's URI? Or am I doing something wrong?
Thanks in advance!

[eluser]snaggy[/eluser]
I can't answer your question since I don't know exactly what you're trying to do, but if you just want to include the output of a controller's function you should pass it from the controller

$this->load->view('view name', $variable)

you can pass whatever you want through that variable, even what you get from another function/view. You shouldn't need to include anything in the view file.

[eluser]Michael Wales[/eluser]
Not sure why you are including either, but I know what the problem is. index.php/projects/GetProjects is not a valid path (I mean, unless you really do have a folder called 'index.php', with a sub-folder of 'projects', which house a file named 'GetProjects' - note the lack of extensions).

include() uses literal paths on your filesystem to include a file. So, to include a file that is in your controllers folder, from a file in your views folder, you would use:
Code: