![]() |
Controller name "List" doesn't work; "List2" works fine. - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23) +--- Thread: Controller name "List" doesn't work; "List2" works fine. (/showthread.php?tid=33000) |
Controller name "List" doesn't work; "List2" works fine. - El Forum - 08-11-2010 [eluser]itsdanieloconnor[/eluser] Hey guys, So I was getting a blank page when trying to create a super-simple controller "list.php." Filename: list.php Code: <?php Filename: list2.php Code: <?php That one works. ¿Qué? I don't see "list" on the reserved list. Controller name "List" doesn't work; "List2" works fine. - El Forum - 08-11-2010 [eluser]JHackamack[/eluser] List is a php function so you're probably running into conflicts there: http://php.net/manual/en/function.list.php when you define it with the parent::Controller(); Controller name "List" doesn't work; "List2" works fine. - El Forum - 08-11-2010 [eluser]itsdanieloconnor[/eluser] Yeah, that must be the problem. Is there anyway to use .htaccess to show "list" when the controller name is "lists"? Controller name "List" doesn't work; "List2" works fine. - El Forum - 08-11-2010 [eluser]Unknown[/eluser] As JHackamack said, list is a reserved keyword in PHP (http://www.php.net/manual/en/reserved.keywords.php) so it's most likely why you're having the problem. The solution is to use codeigniter's URI routing (http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/general/routing.html). URI Routing will allow you to define a relationship between a URI path like 'list' and your controller... You can even use wildcards and regular expressions. The route you'd want to define is really simple... just something like this: Code: $route['list'] = "lists"; where 'lists' is whatever you've used for your controller name Controller name "List" doesn't work; "List2" works fine. - El Forum - 08-12-2010 [eluser]itsdanieloconnor[/eluser] Thanks! That fixes my problem. Maybe the Codeigniter team could add a mention of these reserved keywords on the CI reserved keywords page. Controller name "List" doesn't work; "List2" works fine. - El Forum - 08-12-2010 [eluser]danmontgomery[/eluser] http://www.php.net/manual/en/reserved.keywords.php |