CodeIgniter Forums
PHXView View Engine... - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived Libraries & Helpers (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=22)
+--- Thread: PHXView View Engine... (/showthread.php?tid=3917)

PHXView View Engine... - El Forum - 10-28-2007

[eluser]PhoenixPowered[/eluser]
I just started playing with CI today and spent a bit of time writing a view engine to benefit a project I'm working on. It is very alpha-ish code, but I thought I would post it up and see what people thought of it.

The premise of this was to allow myself to have an overall layout view and to encapsulate portions of the pages in to components. I have written a short wiki article with some very very basic examples. I will try to write some more complicated examples in the near future.

Please let me know what you think of this implementation and if I am breaking any design rules with it. This is free for anyone to use in any form. If you modify it to make it better please contact me so I can incorporate the changes.

PHXView View Engine... - El Forum - 10-29-2007

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
I made a templating library myself so i'm interested in other views on how to build it.

First i couldn't understand why you used $this->load in your controller code to use a method of your library but then i understood your methods call a view file. I obscure my page part view files, and in the latest version controllers, by referencing to them using the variable name of the base view file. But i can see were your way is easier to spot errors.

In the application/layouts/ directory come all the classes to get generated data into the view files, or am i wrong? If i'm right i'm wondering how you are going to get data from different controller methods?

Have you tested the library with views in subdirectories?