CodeIgniter Forums
Running CI Scripts from command line - Possible solution - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: Running CI Scripts from command line - Possible solution (/showthread.php?tid=4616)



Running CI Scripts from command line - Possible solution - El Forum - 12-06-2007

[eluser]fry-guy[/eluser]
While developing a newsletter script, I came across a solution to run my mailing script through the command line. Here's what I did:

1. Create a script called mailer.php in the main folder (where index.php is located)
/mailer.php - with the following content

Code:
// Mailer.php
ini_set("max_execution_time","0");
set_time_limit(0);

$mailingid = file_get_contents("data/mailing.txt");

$_SERVER['QUERY_STRING'] = '/sendmail/send/'.$mailingid;

include "index.php";

the mailing.txt file contains variable that needs to be passed to the mailing script.
Then run the script through the command line:

~]$php mailer.php

It works perfectly well for me, but I am not using mod_rewrite on this particular application and I have not tested it with mod_rewrite enabled. I will do that sometime this week and post the result here.

I hope someone will find this useful. :-)


Running CI Scripts from command line - Possible solution - El Forum - 12-06-2007

[eluser]gtech[/eluser]
thanks for that, that will be very useful to me.


Running CI Scripts from command line - Possible solution - El Forum - 12-06-2007

[eluser]Grahack[/eluser]
There are some other tricks like that in the wiki:
models from outside script
CI cron
use CI in other frameworks/apps


Running CI Scripts from command line - Possible solution - El Forum - 01-04-2008

[eluser]yongkhun[/eluser]
fry-guy's way not working for me. It just keep giving me Page Not Found error...


Running CI Scripts from command line - Possible solution - El Forum - 01-04-2008

[eluser]fry-guy[/eluser]
[quote author="yongkhun" date="1199464515"]fry-guy's way not working for me. It just keep giving me Page Not Found error...[/quote]

Are you using mod rewrite? If you are, then try this

Code:
ini_set("max_execution_time","0");
set_time_limit(0);

$_SERVER['QUERY_STRING'] = $argv[1];

include "index.php";

Save this file (e.g. cron.php) in your root codeigniter folder (where index.php is located)

and then run throught the command line:

Code:
$ php cron.php controller/function

Hope this helps


Running CI Scripts from command line - Possible solution - El Forum - 01-04-2008

[eluser]Peter Ivanov[/eluser]
Hello,

if you want to run CI scripts from the command line

why don't you use:


Code:
curl http://url_to_script/test.php