CodeIgniter Forums
how to display data from the db in html tables dynamically? - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-20.html)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-23.html)
+--- Thread: how to display data from the db in html tables dynamically? (/thread-53707.html)

Pages: 1 2


how to display data from the db in html tables dynamically? - El Forum - 08-05-2012

[eluser]towki[/eluser]
how could I display my data from the database to a html table dynamically?
Because I dont want to create manually each row in a table, i mean for each rows of data a table for it should be automatically created
Please give me examples on how to do this. Please use example first name and last name data


how to display data from the db in html tables dynamically? - El Forum - 08-05-2012

[eluser]theprodigy[/eluser]
You can pass your query results directly to the generate function of the table class.

HTML Table class


how to display data from the db in html tables dynamically? - El Forum - 08-05-2012

[eluser]InsiteFX[/eluser]
Code by Adam Griffiths Auth 1.0.6
Code:
// --------------------------------------------------------------------

/**
  * manage()
  *
  * Description:
  *
  * @access public
  * @param string
  * @return void
  */
public function manage()
{
  // Grab an array of users from the database
  $data = $this->users->users();

  // Setting headings for the table
  $this->table->set_heading('Username', 'Email', 'Actions');
  
  foreach($data as $value => $key)
  {
   // Build actions links
   $actions = anchor("admin/users/edit/".$key['id']."/", "Edit") . anchor("admin/users/delete/".$key['id']."/", "Delete");

   // Adding row to table
   $this->table->add_row($key['username'], $key['email'], $actions);
  }

  // Load the Auth specific view
  $this->auth->view('users/manage');
}

Should show you how to do it.



how to display data from the db in html tables dynamically? - El Forum - 08-05-2012

[eluser]towki[/eluser]
[quote author="theprodigy" date="1344152817"]You can pass your query results directly to the generate function of the table class.

HTML Table class[/quote]

But can I do it without using the table class?How? please give me some examples


how to display data from the db in html tables dynamically? - El Forum - 08-05-2012

[eluser]InsiteFX[/eluser]
Yes, but then you willneed to build your table using html and loop through it using a foresch loop



how to display data from the db in html tables dynamically? - El Forum - 08-05-2012

[eluser]towki[/eluser]
Im really confused how to create dynamic tables...Please give me examples with the MVC pattern, because im also confused where to put or create the table, whether it should be in the model or the view.. just a simple example just to understand the logic here and some of the codes for the table class(Im gonna use the table class).Please anyone help me


how to display data from the db in html tables dynamically? - El Forum - 08-05-2012

[eluser]theprodigy[/eluser]
There are several examples given in the link I gave you. Are those not enough?


how to display data from the db in html tables dynamically? - El Forum - 08-05-2012

[eluser]towki[/eluser]
[quote author="theprodigy" date="1344222522"]There are several examples given in the link I gave you. Are those not enough?[/quote]

Im confused in the examples, i dont know where to put those code in the model or the controller, and how they link together, where to load the table library class...


how to display data from the db in html tables dynamically? - El Forum - 08-05-2012

[eluser]theprodigy[/eluser]
Personally, I don't use the table class, but if I did, I would do something like:

controller
Code:
$this->load->library('table');

$records = $this->my_model->getSomething();

$data['table'] = $this->table->generate($records);

$this->load->view('myview', $data);

view
Code:
<!--
stuff above
-->
<?php echo $table; ?>
<!--
stuff below
-->



how to display data from the db in html tables dynamically? - El Forum - 08-05-2012

[eluser]towki[/eluser]
[quote author="theprodigy" date="1344227722"]Personally, I don't use the table class, but if I did, I would do something like:

controller
Code:
$this->load->library('table');

$records = $this->my_model->getSomething();

$data['table'] = $this->table->generate($records);

$this->load->view('myview', $data);

view
Code:
<!--
stuff above
-->
<?php echo $table; ?>
<!--
stuff below
-->
[/quote]

thanks. I got the idea now.. but could you give me examples on generating a table for all of my columns in the database except for the ID column only. Normally I would use the SELECT ALL query but i dont want the id of the person to be displayed in the generated html table. sorry if my english was confusing??