![]() |
reset password - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23) +--- Thread: reset password (/showthread.php?tid=54173) |
reset password - El Forum - 08-27-2012 [eluser]shiva478[/eluser] Hi I don't know if this is the right place but I was wondering if someone could tell me how or point me in the right direction on how to reset a password using codeigniter. I've made a login and sign up page, and when the person signs up the password is encrypted using md5. reset password - El Forum - 08-27-2012 [eluser]shivi[/eluser] but your question is not realy clear . after you encrypted password what do you want to do ? to give possibility to change the password . you can check with using session if user has logged . he can change his password reset password - El Forum - 08-27-2012 [eluser]shiva478[/eluser] there is going to be a link that says forgot password and when the user clicks the link it will take them to a page that will ask them for their email and then an email will be sent to them with a temporary password. That's what I would like to do. reset password - El Forum - 08-27-2012 [eluser]DarkManX[/eluser] ... reset password - El Forum - 08-27-2012 [eluser]timmahoney[/eluser] Are you using pre-built Authentication functionality? For example, Ion Auth or Tank Auth? reset password - El Forum - 08-27-2012 [eluser]cerberus478[/eluser] no i'm not reset password - El Forum - 08-27-2012 [eluser]CroNiX[/eluser] How would it be any different than how you create an account, except you are just updating the password field? Form that shows fields: -Enter EXISTING password -Enter New Password -Reenter New Password Send result to controller. Confirm the existing password matches for the current user and the 2 (new) passwords match If they do, run MD5 on one and store the result Code: $data = array('password' => md5(set_value('new_password'))); If not, display validation errors and have them do it again. Edit: I would use something other than MD5 for hashing passwords. |