CodeIgniter Forums
Form Validation - Array Count - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: Form Validation - Array Count (/showthread.php?tid=58216)

Form Validation - Array Count - El Forum - 05-24-2013

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hi, I'm fairly new to CodeIgniter and I'm having an issue with the form validation library. What I'm trying to accomplish is, There are 10 types of Electronic Gadgets and a user is allowed to select minimum of 1 and a maximum of 4. These are checkboxes. In native PHP I could simply do this by

Code:
$selected_items_count = $_POST['gadget'];
if ( count( $selected_items_count) >= 1 && count( $selected_items_count) <= 4 ) {
}

But then again, I'm using CodeIgniter Smile I want to use the form validation library to accomplish this. I tried creating a callback function but each element in the $_POST["gadget"] is getting passed to it separately and not as the array itself. Can someone kindly help me out !

Thanks a lot in advance.

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
Welcome to the CodeIgniter forums!

Interesting problem.

What I would suggest you do, is instead of trying to validate each checkbox, you add a hidden form field and add your validation rule to that. For example, let's add a hidden form field, and call it "_gadget".

So the validation rule would be something like:
Code:
// Note the TWO underscores. This is so we can make our validation method innaccessible
// to the outside world by prefixing it with an underscore.
$this->form_validation->set_rules('_gadget', 'gadget', 'callback__validate_gadgets');

Now we just need a method to do the magic. I assume you're submitting your checkboxes as a single array:
Code:
function _validate_gadgets()
{
    // Count how many gadgets are in the array.