![]() |
Routing help needed - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23) +--- Thread: Routing help needed (/showthread.php?tid=60607) |
Routing help needed - El Forum - 05-08-2014 [eluser]Naoshad[/eluser] Hello, Greetings. In one of my current application I need this: www.example.com/WaQw2rD my users will request url like that and I need to pass WaQw2rD to the default controller. how can I do it? Any help will be highly appreciated. Thanks a lot. Routing help needed - El Forum - 05-08-2014 [eluser]Tpojka[/eluser] Controller could be like this: Code: <?php if ( ! defined ('BASEPATH')) exit('No direct script access allowed!'); Code: $route['(:any)'] = "user_provided/index/$1"; Maybe helps. Routing help needed - El Forum - 05-08-2014 [eluser]Naoshad[/eluser] Thanks a lot Tpojka for your reply. Could you please help me to understand this? "Make sure you set wild card for routing after all defined routes." Thanks again. ![]() Routing help needed - El Forum - 05-08-2014 [eluser]Tpojka[/eluser] In post above I wrote route rule for anything that is set after base_url(). So if you have route like: http://www.example.com/contact user_provided.php will be used instead other controller you coded for contact page and there fore, you need to set specific routes before wild card route. Code: $route['contact'] = "pages/contact"; Read that on this page. Routing help needed - El Forum - 05-08-2014 [eluser]Naoshad[/eluser] Thanks a lot... it worked like a charm ![]() Thank you very much. Routing help needed - El Forum - 05-08-2014 [eluser]Naoshad[/eluser] Hi, One more question. For example if I have another controller there names dahboard and there are methods in this controller. Now if I want to access Code: www.example.come/dashboard/method1 or Code: www.example.come/dashboard/method2 it doesn't hit that specific method though I added this: Code: $route['dashboard'] = "dashboard"; how can I make all methods accessible? Thanks. Routing help needed - El Forum - 05-08-2014 [eluser]Tpojka[/eluser] [quote author="Naoshad" date="1399573591"]Thanks a lot... it worked like a charm ![]() Thank you very much. [/quote] I am glad if I was helpfull to you. If you have route rule with wild card key (:any), you would need to set all other routes before that. I mentioned that before. Any specific URL should be called has to be assigned to it's concrete value trough routes.php file. Example: In URLs Code: www.example.com/controller Code: $route['(:any)'] = 'controller'; any of those links will call first one to be executed because wild card :any can mean anything of that after base_url() regardless segments or any other specific characters. |