Attn: Derek Allard - CI Sample .htaccess - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23) +--- Thread: Attn: Derek Allard - CI Sample .htaccess (/showthread.php?tid=6333) Pages:
1
2
|
Attn: Derek Allard - CI Sample .htaccess - El Forum - 02-22-2008 [eluser]MrBaseball34[/eluser] Can you explain what is going on here? I put the files for your function search sample program in a directory named ci_sample off my webroot. But when I go to http://localhost/ci_sample, I get a Code: Internal Server Error: Here is the .htaccess, I am thinking this is the problem because if I rename it, the app works. Code: RewriteEngine on Attn: Derek Allard - CI Sample .htaccess - El Forum - 02-22-2008 [eluser]Pascal Kriete[/eluser] /puts on Derek Allard hat Ok, a few things here - you don't need that first RewriteRule, you want your system folder to be part of the RewriteCond and you don't want a leading slash in that last rule because you're not using the webroot. So try: Code: RewriteEngine on EDIT: Just to clarify this a bit, the first line turns on url rewriting. The second line says that anything that isn't one of the things in the parenthesis gets stored to $1. And the third line takes that stored bit and appends it to ci_sample/index.php/. Attn: Derek Allard - CI Sample .htaccess - El Forum - 02-22-2008 [eluser]MrBaseball34[/eluser] Modifying my .htaccess like that still didn't work. Can you explain what is going on with those commands? Attn: Derek Allard - CI Sample .htaccess - El Forum - 02-22-2008 [eluser]Rick Jolly[/eluser] Derek is a very busy guy. You'd get a better response by inviting anyone in the community to have a go at your problem. Collectively, we're almost as smart as Derek. inparo - just to be clear, the $1 in the RewriteCond and in the RewriteRule references what is captured in the RewriteRule regex, no? In this case ^(.*)$. Attn: Derek Allard - CI Sample .htaccess - El Forum - 02-22-2008 [eluser]Rick Jolly[/eluser] MrBaseball34, make sure mod_rewrite is enabled. It isn't enabled by default with XAMPP for example. Surround inparo's example with <IfModule mod_rewrite.c></IfModule>. Attn: Derek Allard - CI Sample .htaccess - El Forum - 02-22-2008 [eluser]Pascal Kriete[/eluser] @Rick: Right, but since it just says "any character as often as you want" it seems confusing to go the extra step. Another one to try would be Code: RewriteEngine on Which basically says - if it doesn't exist, go to index.php Attn: Derek Allard - CI Sample .htaccess - El Forum - 02-22-2008 [eluser]MrBaseball34[/eluser] Well, first off, I'm such a DA because I didn't have mod_rewrite on. Second, the last mod works. Thanks to both of you. Attn: Derek Allard - CI Sample .htaccess - El Forum - 02-22-2008 [eluser]MrBaseball34[/eluser] BTW, I'm using WAMP for my dev environment. Attn: Derek Allard - CI Sample .htaccess - El Forum - 02-22-2008 [eluser]Rick Jolly[/eluser] [quote author="MrBaseball34" date="1203739476"]Well, first off, I'm such a DA because I didn't have mod_rewrite on. Second, the last mod works. Thanks to both of you.[/quote] Don't worry, sometimes if feel like a total "Derek Allard" too. Or did you mean dumb a**? Attn: Derek Allard - CI Sample .htaccess - El Forum - 02-22-2008 [eluser]MrBaseball34[/eluser] dumb a$$ was the term I was pertaining, for sure. |