Get image url from model good practice? - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Using CodeIgniter (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5) +--- Forum: Best Practices (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=12) +--- Thread: Get image url from model good practice? (/showthread.php?tid=63496) Pages:
1
2
|
RE: Get image url from model good practice? - sintakonte - 11-11-2015 i would never ever attach a class which represents a data object together with a model because there are cases where you just need the object so this is in my opinion a wrong approach thats because i wrote the autoloader as a hook because of its clean technique. You dont have to be worried about another hook who eventually needs an object because it gets as a pre controller hook loaded and you will see if your system grows and grows this approach helps you a lot @dubefx i know the customer result object function and it gets used if i dont need to initialize my custom objects or attach any other object to but in most cases i need to iterate over (but of course your approach is right too) RE: Get image url from model good practice? - sebastianvirlan - 11-11-2015 Ok so I used your idea and merged to create custom objects on another projects, here is the code and please tell me if is ok: hooks.php PHP Code: $hook['pre_system'][] = array( AppAutoLoadObjects.php PHP Code: class AppAutoLoadObjects Proprietati_model.php PHP Code: function select_by_limit($start, $limit) { and Proprietati_Object.php PHP Code: class Proprietati_Object Is this ok? RE: Get image url from model good practice? - sintakonte - 11-12-2015 it was never intended to (ab)use Data Objects to load Views you should pass your prepared data array from a model to a controller and in your controller load the view - as described by many many users here if you want to follow my approach it is a bad practice to load views in a data Object like you do in your Proprietati_Object The purpose of a data object is to clean up your models and let the objects do all the work which are related to the Objects Data a simple example would be: if your database contains 2 columns discount and price and you want the calculated price - than your object can do the work PHP Code: class Proprietati_Object and i don't quite get your adaption of the autoloader function PHP Code: public function autoloadCoreObjects($class) this does the same as my posted function except the fact that you use for some weird reason explode to split the name in 2 partials. RE: Get image url from model good practice? - sebastianvirlan - 11-12-2015 This should fix it cuz I return the view as data: PHP Code: public function get_block_caracteristics(){ Yes you told me that to load views in controller but I need different view for each item from the object, and in this case I need to make a foreach to the object like this: PHP Code: $object = $this->model->get_from_db(); Then my controller will get a mess. This view have only few lines of html from the entire page I made that explode because $class returned Proprietati_model. The Proprietati model file was proprietati_model.php with class Proprietati_model. And also how can I pass a param on the constructor's class? RE: Get image url from model good practice? - sintakonte - 11-12-2015 the autoloader only loads files from the application/objects directory if the proprietati_model was inside of this directory than remove it and copy it to the application/models directory, because a model should not be there RE: Get image url from model good practice? - sebastianvirlan - 11-12-2015 (11-12-2015, 03:41 AM)sintakonte Wrote: the autoloader only loads files from the application/objects directory You did not understand, public function autoloadCoreObjects($class) where $class is the name of the model yes? Well my model name was: Proprietati_model because in my models folder this is how I use to name my models: Properties_model.php with class Properties_model Products_model.php with class Products_model Maybe your models was Properties.php with class Properties Products.php with class Products and you did not need that explode for underscore. RE: Get image url from model good practice? - sintakonte - 11-12-2015 that doesnt matter the autoloader only loads classes which are in application/objects directory as i mentioned earlier - and the code should indicate it RE: Get image url from model good practice? - InsiteFX - 11-12-2015 In case you did not know it the spl_array methods have built in foreach Research them. RE: Get image url from model good practice? - sintakonte - 11-12-2015 you mean because foreach creates everytime a copy of the array you pass it to, you would consider an arrayiterator or something like that ? |