CodeIgniter Forums
How to load model and helper - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: CodeIgniter 4 (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-28.html)
+--- Forum: CodeIgniter 4 Support (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-30.html)
+--- Thread: How to load model and helper (/thread-65739.html)



How to load model and helper - HTLove - 07-18-2016

Hi All.
I want load model and helper and using it.
Can't you help me using it.
Tks all Heart


RE: How to load model and helper - PaulD - 07-18-2016

http://bfy.tw/6nPe

Or http://www.codeigniter.com/user_guide/general/helpers.html or http://www.codeigniter.com/user_guide/general/models.html


RE: How to load model and helper - HTLove - 07-18-2016

i'm use CI4


RE: How to load model and helper - ciadmin - 07-18-2016

Models: https://bcit-ci.github.io/CodeIgniter4/database/model.html
Helpers: https://bcit-ci.github.io/CodeIgniter4/general/helpers.html


RE: How to load model and helper - kilishan - 07-18-2016

Interestingly enough, the Models docs doesn't actually say how to load a model. Embarrassing. Smile But, a model is just a class, so you would get a new instance of it like you would any other class:

Code:
$model = new \App\Models\MyModel();

The helpers docs do explain.


RE: How to load model and helper - HTLove - 07-18-2016

Tks you very much


RE: How to load model and helper - idealcastle - 07-22-2016

(07-18-2016, 11:56 AM)kilishan Wrote: Interestingly enough, the Models docs doesn't actually say how to load a model. Embarrassing. Smile But, a model is just a class, so you would get a new instance of it like you would any other class:

Code:
$model = new \App\Models\MyModel();

The helpers docs do explain.



How might one "Auto-Load" a model?

Or, as for namespaces, I assume I cant add my "use \namespace;" and then call the model statically like Laravel? such as "ModeName::find(123)", seems repetitive to have to instantiate the class with "new Model()" and then call methods.


RE: How to load model and helper - kilishan - 07-22-2016

(07-22-2016, 12:10 PM)idealcastle Wrote: How might one "Auto-Load" a model?

Or, as for namespaces, I assume I cant add my "use \namespace;" and then call the model statically like Laravel? such as "ModeName::find(123)", seems repetitive to have to instantiate the class with "new Model()" and then call methods.

Nope - no calling it statically - unless you create static methods. FYI - Laravel's not really called static, either, but it sets up an intermediate layer called a Facade, that mimics it and handles creating an instance for you.

The best way to handle it is either load it in your controller's constructor, or have a base controller setup that loads the ones you want.

Thought, it's really not that much typing to say, "$model = new \App\Models\MyModel();" whenever you need it. That has the added benefit that anyone who comes after you that looks at your code knows exactly what the model is at a glance. Smile


RE: How to load model and helper - idealcastle - 07-22-2016

(07-22-2016, 12:34 PM)kilishan Wrote:
(07-22-2016, 12:10 PM)idealcastle Wrote: How might one "Auto-Load" a model?

Or, as for namespaces, I assume I cant add my "use \namespace;" and then call the model statically like Laravel? such as "ModeName::find(123)", seems repetitive to have to instantiate the class with "new Model()" and then call methods.

Nope - no calling it statically - unless you create static methods. FYI - Laravel's not really called static, either, but it sets up an intermediate layer called a Facade, that mimics it and handles creating an instance for you.

The best way to handle it is either load it in your controller's constructor, or have a base controller setup that loads the ones you want.

Thought, it's really not that much typing to say, "$model = new \App\Models\MyModel();" whenever you need it. That has the added benefit that anyone who comes after you that looks at your code knows exactly what the model is at a glance. Smile

Thanks. yeah I actually like that. I've been testing out CI4, building one of my new platforms off it (really would like to see how it handles).