CodeIgniter Forums
combo box - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Using CodeIgniter (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: General Help (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=24)
+--- Thread: combo box (/showthread.php?tid=65905)



combo box - davy_yg - 08-08-2016

Hello, 

Can anyone help me find the right code to input combo box through model?

I think I should change role input text into some other codes since it is a combo box that I am trying to input into the database.


PHP Code:
'role' => $this->input->post('email'




controllers/cpages.php


PHP Code:
public function addusers() { 
    
        
$data['options'] = array(
            
'administrator' => 'Administrator',
            
'manager'       => 'Manager',
        );

        
$this->Mpages->add_user();
        
        
$this->load->view('addusers'$data); 
        
    } 



views/addusers.php


PHP Code:
<tr>
    <
td>ROLE</td>
    <
td><?php echo form_dropdown('roles'$options'administrator'); ?></td>
</tr> 


models/Mpages.php


PHP Code:
public function add_user()
    {    
            
        $data 
= array(
            'username' => $this->input->post('username'),
            'email' => $this->input->post('email'),
            'password' => $this->input->post('password'),
            'role' => $this->input->post('email')        
        
);        
        
    




RE: combo box - InsiteFX - 08-09-2016

Maybe read the CodeIgniter Users Guide on the Form Helper form_dropdown()


RE: combo box - davy_yg - 08-09-2016

(08-09-2016, 05:32 AM)InsiteFX Wrote: Maybe read the CodeIgniter Users Guide on the Form Helper form_dropdown()


Yes, I already read the user guide but do not know how to fix the model.


models/Mpages.php


PHP Code:
public function add_user()
    {    
            
        $data 
= array(
            'username' => $this->input->post('username'),
            'email' => $this->input->post('email'),
            'password' => $this->input->post('password'),
            'role' => $this->input->post('email')        
        
);        
        
    



I should change the role into something else since it is a dropdown box.

PHP Code:
'role' => $this->input->post('email'



RE: combo box - davy_yg - 08-15-2016

This is my revision but I still get strange result:

PHP Code:
public function add_user()
    {    
            
        
$data = array(
            
'username' => $this->input->post('username'),
            
'email' => $this->input->post('email'),
            
'password' => $this->input->post('password'),
            
'role' => form_dropdown('roles'$options'administrator')        
        );        
        
        return 
$this->db->insert('login'$data);
        
    } 



username            email                   password             role

user                    [email protected]    12345678           <select name="roles"


RE: combo box - PaulD - 08-16-2016

You have not read the docs! Clearly.

http://www.codeigniter.com/user_guide/helpers/form_helper.html#form_dropdown

Why would you put the output of form_dropdown function into an array with input posts that you then insert into your database!!!!!

I seriously do not know whether to laugh or cry!

This will tell you how dropdowns work
http://www.html-form-guide.com/php-form/php-form-select.html

Now you have a post field with your dropdown option value. Access it just like you would any other input post. The form helper just helps you to write your select HTML a bit more easily than writing it all out.

Did you say you were building an eCommerce CMS? OMFG :-(