![]() |
[Thanks All For Advice] Checking if isset is correct? - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Using CodeIgniter (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5) +--- Forum: General Help (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=24) +--- Thread: [Thanks All For Advice] Checking if isset is correct? (/showthread.php?tid=66127) |
[Thanks All For Advice] Checking if isset is correct? - wolfgang1983 - 09-09-2016 Question: On my view file default.php I would like to know if I have set the isset correct? It's just a new way of loading views that I am trying On my controllers I load views like Login.php PHP Code: public function index() Dashboard.php PHP Code: public function index() How ever if the navbar does not exist on my login views array but does on dashboard views array On my view default.php I would like to know what is the better way of setting isset PHP Code: <?php foreach ($views as $view) {?> RE: Checking if isset is correct? - JayAdra - 09-09-2016 Should be fine. Does it work? If so, why are you asking? RE: Checking if isset is correct? - InsiteFX - 09-09-2016 Read this Article: PHP isset() vs empty() vs is_null() RE: Checking if isset is correct? - wolfgang1983 - 09-09-2016 (09-09-2016, 04:39 AM)JayAdra Wrote: Should be fine. Does it work? If so, why are you asking? Yes works fine just was not sure best way of doing it. RE: Checking if isset is correct? - dave friend - 09-09-2016 The Ternary is great for deciding on which of two possible values to return. But in this case you are deciding whether or not to take one possible action. Code: <?php In this particular case the ternary is not needed and a simple if statement is cleaner. RE: Checking if isset is correct? - PaulD - 09-10-2016 isset is not always good enough, for instance suppose the $view['navbar'] is set in a model or library call which returns FALSE if not needed. Then: PHP Code: <?php Whereas PHP Code: <?php So it entirely depends on the usage of the variable being tested. For the OP example, I would use PHP Code: <?php if (!empty($view['navbar'])) $this->load->view($view['navbar']); ?> RE: Checking if isset is correct? - Wouter60 - 09-11-2016 If you (auto)load the array helper, you could also use the element() function. Usage: PHP Code: $navbar = element('navbar',$view,FALSE); RE: [Thanks All For Advice] Checking if isset is correct? - JayAdra - 09-11-2016 (09-10-2016, 11:50 AM)PaulD Wrote: Will that not throw a warning if the key doesn't exist in the array though? Hence the use of isset? RE: [Thanks All For Advice] Checking if isset is correct? - Wouter60 - 09-11-2016 (09-11-2016, 05:08 PM)JayAdra Wrote:Hence the use of element(). This will not throw an error, but you can decide yourself what value you want if the array key doesn't exist.(09-10-2016, 11:50 AM)PaulD Wrote: RE: [Thanks All For Advice] Checking if isset is correct? - PaulD - 09-12-2016 No it does not throw an error. From the docs: Quote:No warning is generated if the variable does not exist. That means empty() is essentially the concise equivalent to !isset($var) || $var == false. http://php.net/manual/en/function.empty.php Also: Quote:__isset() is triggered by calling isset() or empty() on inaccessible properties. http://php.net/manual/en/language.oop5.overloading.php#object.isset |