CodeIgniter Forums
[CI2.1.4] This page isn’t working website is currently unable to handle this request. - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Using CodeIgniter (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-5.html)
+--- Forum: General Help (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-24.html)
+--- Thread: [CI2.1.4] This page isn’t working website is currently unable to handle this request. (/thread-67892.html)



[CI2.1.4] This page isn’t working website is currently unable to handle this request. - cndunga - 04-20-2017

When I try to access my website I get the following error message

This page isn’t working

website.co.ke is currently unable to handle this request.

The error log is as follows

ERROR - 2017-04-20 12:30:12 --> Severity: Notice  --> Undefined variable: ark_root /home/website/public_html/application/config/config.php 34

ERROR - 2017-04-20 12:30:12 --> Severity: Notice  --> Only variable references should be returned by reference /home/website/public_html/system/core/Common.php 257


What could be the problem?


RE: This page isn’t working website.co.ke is currently unable to handle this request. - enlivenapp - 04-20-2017

What version of CI are you using?

(Edit: Some early versions of )V3 gives the last error when using PHP 7.


RE: This page isn’t working website.co.ke is currently unable to handle this request. - Narf - 04-20-2017

(04-20-2017, 10:44 AM)enlivenapp Wrote: What version of CI are you using?

V3 gives the last error when using PHP 7.

No it doesn't.

Some of the early 3.x versions may have, but when you say just "3" you're speaking of the entire version tree, in which case you should be referring to the latest release.


RE: This page isn’t working website.co.ke is currently unable to handle this request. - enlivenapp - 04-20-2017

(04-20-2017, 11:25 AM)Narf Wrote:
(04-20-2017, 10:44 AM)enlivenapp Wrote: What version of CI are you using?

V3 gives the last error when using PHP 7.

No it doesn't.

Some of the early 3.x versions may have, but when you say just "3" you're speaking of the entire version tree, in which case you should be referring to the latest release.

yeah, that's fair enough.  Should have been more specific... Appologies for that.  I've seen the error in 3.0.x and 3.0.0-dev?(PyroCMS 2.5.x)

Still, I think he's maybe using CI2 or CI3 and posted in the wrong forum.


RE: This page isn’t working website.co.ke is currently unable to handle this request. - ciadmin - 04-20-2017

@cndunga What is on line 34 of your config.php? That is where the error is reported.


RE: This page isn’t working website.co.ke is currently unable to handle this request. - cndunga - 04-20-2017

(04-20-2017, 10:44 AM)enlivenapp Wrote: What version of CI are you using?

(Edit: Some early versions of )V3 gives the last error when using PHP 7.

I am using CI_VERSION', '2.1.4'


RE: This page isn’t working website.co.ke is currently unable to handle this request. - enlivenapp - 04-20-2017

Ah, I figured. This is the CI v4 support forum.

Well, before this thread gets moved a couple things.

CI 3.1.4 is the latest, you should upgrade to that before you try running on PHP7. I understand they're not going to do any further updates for CI2. Otherwise, you're stuck in the PHP 5.3/5.4 ish which is not ideal.


RE: This page isn’t working website.co.ke is currently unable to handle this request. - cndunga - 04-20-2017

(04-20-2017, 12:15 PM)ciadmin Wrote: @cndunga What is on line 34 of your config.php? That is where the error is reported.

34 - $ark_root .= str_replace(basename($_SERVER['SCRIPT_NAME']),"",$_SERVER['SCRIPT_NAME']);


RE: This page isn’t working website.co.ke is currently unable to handle this request. - ciadmin - 04-20-2017

(04-20-2017, 02:00 PM)cndunga Wrote:
(04-20-2017, 12:15 PM)ciadmin Wrote: @cndunga What is on line 34 of your config.php? That is where the error is reported.

34 - $ark_root .= str_replace(basename($_SERVER['SCRIPT_NAME']),"",$_SERVER['SCRIPT_NAME']);

Either (a) $ark_root is not initialized before ".=" or
(b) basename(...) is conflicted because it has 2 args according to the PHP docs, not 3 like you have used.


RE: [CI2.1.4] This page isn’t working website is currently unable to handle this request. - Martin7483 - 04-21-2017

(04-20-2017, 01:16 PM)enlivenapp Wrote: Otherwise, you're stuck in the PHP 5.3/5.4 ish which is not ideal.

Not true, CI version 2.2.2 works just fine running on PHP 5.6.30
We still use it for small websites. To be fair we do now update core file as CI 2.x.x is no longer supported.

And any problems under 5.6.30 were quick to fix