![]() |
Adding admin area - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Using CodeIgniter (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5) +--- Forum: General Help (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=24) +--- Thread: Adding admin area (/showthread.php?tid=71154) |
Adding admin area - TamasD - 07-12-2018 Hi, I created the frontend of my app and now I'd like to create an admin dashboard. I created an Admin.php controller with the following content: PHP Code: <?php I created dashboard.php in views/admin but I cannot access the page. If i try to access it like this: http://localhost:8080/ci/admin/view/dashboard then it's ok, but I'd like to access the admin dashboard like this: http://localhost:8080/ci/admin/ I guess my route is incorrect, I used this: PHP Code: $route['admin'] = 'admin/dashboard'; i'm new to CI and I'm just tinkering with it to learn, but I can't figure this out. Any help is appreciated. Thanks RE: Adding admin area - php_rocs - 07-12-2018 @TamasD Here is a link to the documentation about URI routing ( https://codeigniter.com/user_guide/general/routing.html?highlight=routing ) RE: Adding admin area - TamasD - 07-12-2018 (07-12-2018, 03:15 PM)php_rocs Wrote: @TamasD Yes, i checked it already, but not sure what would be the solution for me. RE: Adding admin area - salain - 07-12-2018 Hi, Your route should be: PHP Code: $route['admin'] = 'admin/view'; This will work as your method default to 'dashboard' RE: Adding admin area - enlivenapp - 07-13-2018 The short version is your route is looking for the Admin Controller with a 'dashboard' Method. It should be looking for the Admin Controller with the View Method. You're close, almost there. To expand and explain a bit on previous answers; I've assumed you've not removed index.php from your URL below and in application/config/config.php `base_url` = 'http://example.com' according to your controller's default $page = 'dashboard' PHP Code: $route['admin'] = 'admin/view'; To change the page, you would call something like this: http://example.com/index.php/admin/settings http://example.com/index.php/admin/themes etc... which will load the views/settings.php and views/themes.php files respectively. Lastly, you don't *need* to define a route (unless you want to) usually, that controller would be accessible without any routes defined via: http://example.com/index.php/admin/view http://example.com/index.php/admin/view/dashboard http://example.com/index.php/admin/view/settings http://example.com/index.php/admin/view/themes since magic routing is available all the time. The "magic" routing is: http://example.com/[controller]/[method]/[$param1]/[$param2]... etc Good luck and welcome to CodeIgniter! RE: Adding admin area - TamasD - 07-13-2018 @enlivenapp and @salain: thanks very much ![]() |