CodeIgniter Forums
How to buildt dinamicly a controller? - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: How to buildt dinamicly a controller? (/showthread.php?tid=7136)



How to buildt dinamicly a controller? - El Forum - 03-26-2008

[eluser]Peter74[/eluser]
Hi all, iam building a site where the customers can show them products, i whish to show a url like this www.thedomain/customersite1 to www.thedomain/customersiteN but not from code
(i hope a lot of customers suscriptions xD), i dont know if iam thinking the good way, maybe u can help with something to start.

Very txs in advance

-----
sry about my poor inglish


How to buildt dinamicly a controller? - El Forum - 03-26-2008

[eluser]gon[/eluser]
I don't know how you could do that,
but you could have a common controller:

www.thedomain/customersite/N

and catch the argument passed (N). Then you can instantiate a class that uses the argument for its name, and use it as a "controller". Not a real one, as you would have to call its methods manually.


just being curious:
Why do you need to create the constructor on the fly?


How to buildt dinamicly a controller? - El Forum - 03-26-2008

[eluser]Peter74[/eluser]
Hi, txs for reply
I wanna create a page and a url for a new customers whitout the code.
example 3 new customers and them urls
the visitors go to the
www.thedomain/suscribe

and then lauch a controller than can create that above

www.thedomain/cocacola
www.thedomain/pepsi
www.thedomain/gatorate

iwas thinking in have one (a base controller)for that and then copy it(create a new file called "cocaloca" or whetever customer name be)
finally i wanna have something like this

controllers
---controllerssite
------suscriptions
------somothingmore
---cocacola
------images
------css
---pepsi
------images
------css
---gatorate
------images
------css
..
N
i wanna provide for the costumers his own url (thedomain/cocacola)
that why i need a new controller for each costumer

txs for read


How to buildt dinamicly a controller? - El Forum - 03-26-2008

[eluser]gon[/eluser]
You can store customer names and their ids into the database.
Then, if someone hits:

domain.com/cocacola

You can get the argument (the string "cocacola") and search for its id.

And do whatever you would do with it.

IMHO, copying a file at the server before executing it is a very bad idea.
For what you are doing, you dont need that level of complexity.

And for CSS and imgs, I don't see any problem in doing what you say.
You just have to make their urls dynamic.


How to buildt dinamicly a controller? - El Forum - 03-26-2008

[eluser]Peter74[/eluser]
ok i get it but ... how i can put the string in the url line?
www.thedomain.com/cocacola ? how i can put that cocacola string there?
i wanna provide his own url (for bussines card or something)
i know i can search the string in that way, but i need put his name there

pd: what that mean IMHO ?


How to buildt dinamicly a controller? - El Forum - 03-26-2008

[eluser]gon[/eluser]
You build the link URLs at the views, dont you?

http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/IMHO


How to buildt dinamicly a controller? - El Forum - 03-26-2008

[eluser]Peter74[/eluser]
yes sr, finally get it.
Very txs for ur help
Smile